THERE are warnings of possible disruption today (Thursday) as public sector workers strike over pay and conditions.

The strike - which will include members of the National Union of Teachers (NUT), the Public and Commercial Services (PCS) union, Fire Brigades Union (FBU), GMB, Unison and Unite - looks likely to be the second biggest ever.

About 17 Pembrokeshire primary schools will shut their doors for the day. Sixteen schools will be fully open while the remainder are likely to be partially open.

Five of the county’s secondary schools will definitely be open - Ysgol Bro Gwaun/Fishguard, Ysgol y Preseli, Sir Thomas Picton, Greenhill/Tenby and Pembroke.

Tasker Milward and Milford Haven are likely to be open while Ysgol Dewi Sant will be partially open.

The authority’s customer service centres are likely to be affected and residents are being asked to delay routine calls until the strike is over.

Leisure centres are expected to remain open as are libraries although users are being asked to check before visiting.

It will also be business as usual for both Scolton Manor and the Pembrokeshire Archive.

NUT Pembrokeshire branch secretary Anton Brcar said teachers were striking over fair funding, school banding, the number of exams and staffing levels.

UNISON said pay freezes and below-inflation pay rises had reduced local government workers’ pay by 20% since 2010.

The union’s Pembrokeshire branch secretary Vic Dennis said: “Most UNISON members in Pembrokeshire are low-paid, part-time women workers, struggling to pay their household bills. Losing pay for strike action is not something they do lightly.

“Our members are not asking for the 14% pay increase company bosses and bankers are getting. Or the 11% MPs will see. They are just asking for a rise of at least £1 an hour.”

For more information about individual schools and other council services visit The council’s Facebook and Twitter pages will also have the latest updates.

School closures: Angle; Coastlands; Hakin; Haverfordwest Church in Wales VC; Mary Immaculate; Monkton Priory; Neyland; Orielton; Penally Centre; Portfield; Prendergast; Puncheston; Spittal; St Marks, Merlins Bridge; St Oswalds, Jeffreyston; Stackpole; Stepaside; Tavernspite; Wolfscastle; Letterston; Ysgol Glannau Gwaun, Fishguard; Croesgoch; Goodwick.

Partially open: Broad Haven; Cilgerran; Cleddau Reach; Fenton; Golden Grove; Hubberston; Johnston; Lamphey; Manorbier; Mount Airey; Pembroke Dock; Pennar; Learning Resource Centre Neyland (PRU); Roch; Sageston; Saundersfoot; St Aidans; St Francis, MIlford; St Teilo's, Tenby; Tenby Junior; Tenby Infants; The Meads, Milford Haven; Ysgol Bro Ingli, Newport; Ysgol Clydau, Tegryn; Ysgol Dewi Sant; Glan Cleddau, Haverfordwest; Ysgol Brynconin, Llandissilio; Eglwyswrw; Llanychllwydog - Gwaun Valley; Ysgol y Frenni, Crymych.