SIMON Hancock will remain mayor of Neyland for the coming year, following a meeting on Tuesday.

At its first meeting since the local elections, the council welcome new members Joanne Bevan, Peter Hay, Tamsin Llewellyn, and Tracey Payne.

Thanks were also given to former councillors Robin Howells, Judith Wilson and Jennifer Rayner, who were unsuccessful at the election, and Margaret Brace, who stood down.

As Robin Howells was set to graduate from deputy to mayor this year, another candidate was needed, and members were unanimous in supporting Cllr Hancock for the role.

This will be his eighth time in the role.

Cllr Brian Rothero was nominated as deputy.