LAST Saturday, the gents section played the fourth round of the winter league and also a stableford competition for those not playing in the league. A total of over 70 players took part in both stableford competitions.


Winter League

1, Andrew Jones and Simon Holiday 82 points

2, Peter Taylor and Tony Davey 78 points

3, Lyndon Brown and Shaun Dyson 77 points

Winter League

Best Individual score week four

1st Andrew Jones 42points

2nd Leigh Evans 41 points

Twos winners were Adam Bayjoo, Lea Nicholas, Andrew Rees, Trevor George, Wayne Cooper, Scott Findlay, Gwyn French, Tony Davey, Gerald Slate, Sean Conway, Paul Kingston.

Weekly Draw No 51 Mike Edds.

In the Stableford individual stableford competition

1, Gareth Bryant 41 points

Presentation was carried out by John Price Club Captain and Gwyn Scale club vice Captain

This Saturday, a stableford turkey trot will be played with the December monthly medal to be played on Saturday 21 which will be sponsored by Leigh and Tony Evans Harbourmaster, The Docks, Milford Haven. On the last Saturday 28 a stableford whisky trot will be played.

Club vacancies

IN the New Year the club will be looking for a new chairman of competitions and handicaps and a new press secretary. Any member interested in taking up one of these positions contact the new incoming captain Gwyn Scale.

Annual General Meeting

THE annual general meeting was held last Tuesday under the chairmanship of President Chris Davies. There was a low attendance at the meeting which lasted just over an hour.

Chris in his introduction thanked every one for there support during the club’s centenary year which has been a great success both on the course and in the bar. He thanked in particular Steve Brown club secretary and Lyndon Brown chairman of greens for all the work that they had done over the last twelve months.

The captain of the club John Price stated that it has been an absolute honour to be Captain of Milford Haven Golf Club in their centenary year; with so many fantastic events through out the year with the New Years Eve driving in by the past captains which stand out in his memory.

The following officers and committee were elected;

Club President Chris Davies (fifth year), Club Captain Gwyn Scale, committee Nathan Day, Tony Goodridge, Simon Nicholas all for three years with Mark Davies for two years.

For season 2014 the subscriptions will be increased by £15for full members with the bar levy of £30 to be abolished with the 10% bar discount for members being retained.

Presentations ties were carried out by President Chris Davies to new Captain Gwyn Scale and John Price received his Past Captains Tie.

John Price presented Nigel Roberts with a pro shop voucher on behalf of the club and also a silver tankard on behalf of the junior section past and present members for services and dedications over the last 18years as junior organiser.


LAST Tuesday, 12 ladies played in their weekly stableford competition on a dry but windy day with the greens very quick and true for the time of year.


1, Pearl Slate 33points

2, Barbara Phillips 29 points

In the two’s competition it was Jackie Skelhorn birdie on the par three 16th Hole “The Gales” enabled her to claim the money in the doubled up kitty. The presentation was carried out by the ladies Captain Pat Evans.

The winter programme will continue with ladies tee time on Tuesdays at 10.15a m and a two tier roll up on Sundays at 10am and noon.


LAST Thursday, on a very windy day which cut the number of senior’s players down to twenty two all trying to win their Christmas turkey dinner.


1, Richard Brock 40 points (£15 voucher)

2, Rolly Council 36 -1 35 points (£10 voucher)

3, Mike Ballentine 34 points (£5 voucher)

Twos kitty was shared by Billy Hier and Richard Brock.

Presentation was carried out by seniors’ Captain Gwyn French.

On Thursday, December 19, a stableford turkey trot competition will be played with the first draw at 10.30am.

The senior section held their annual general meeting in the club lounge last Thursday.

The election of officers and committee was voted and passed en-block and are as follows;

Seniors President Gareth Rees, Captain Martyn Price, Vice Captain Brian Mitchell Secretary, Gareth Rees, Assistant Secretary Owain Picton, Treasurer David Christopher,

Committee: Gwyn French, Brian Keen, Roy John and Dick Wooding jnr. This concluded the meeting the hand over of captaincy etc will take place during the Christmas dinner and presentation which will be held today (Thursday) in Greens restaurant.


CONGRATULATIONS to Harley Holmes 40 points who won the junior section turkey trot held last Saturday.

Christmas Bingo

THE second Christmas Bingo session will be held in the club lounge on Thursday, December 19. Eyes down at 8pm.

New Year’s Eve

TICKETS can be obtained from Barry at the club for New Year’s Eve which will i9nclude a buffet and music. Tickets are priced at £15 each.

Neyland Golf Society

THE Neyland Golf Society Monday golfers held a very successful golf day and Christmas dinner at the club last Wednesday. The Milford Haven golf members of the society plays every Monday (weather permitting) at 10am and have been saving each week for the dinner. After a round of golf an excellent meal was prepared for by Barry and Emma and their staff in the Greens Restaurant before retiring to the bar for a few more drinks. The day was organised by the golf society’s treasurer Owain Picton who wished Brian Keen (in his absence); who is the society secretary a speedy recovery after his recent operation on his Achilles tendon and hope he will be back playing in the New Year.

Owain wished everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year before presenting the winners to the following members.


1, Alan John 40 points

2, Chris Naylor 39 points (having scored 27 points on the front nine not bad off a handicap of 20)

Owain Picton claimed the twos kitty.

Any member of the Golf society who are members of Milford Haven Golf Club are welcomed to play on Mondays. The next official meeting will be played on the first Monday in the New Year on January 6, teeing off at 10am.