THE December monthly medal was played on Saturday 21st and was sponsored by Leigh and Tony Evans, Harbourmaster, The Docks, Milford Haven. This medal competition was contested for by forty three players and was also a qualifier for points for the Brian Bebb Shield. With a dry but windy start to the competition which changed to very heavy rain along with thunder and lightening for the late starters with the last few players having to leave the course for safety reasons. The winner of the nett medal round was Simon Nicholas with gross 74 a nett 69; with Shaun Dyson winning the gross with a 74 beating Simon on count back.


Brian Bebb points in Brackets

1, Simon Nicholas nett 69 (10)

2, Shaun Dyson nett 73 (9)

3, Ian Rendell nett 73 (8)

4, Steve Roberts nett 73 (7)

5, Gwyn Scale nett 73 (6)

6, Abe Forsyth nett 74 (5)

7, Jamie Lonergan nett 74 (4)

8, Josh Lewis nett 74 (3)

9, Steve Trueman nett 75 (2)

10, Sean Conway nett 76 (1)

Best Gross Shaun Dyson 74

In the two’s competition five players won the twos kitty and each will receive £8.60p in pro shop credit; Jake Lewis; John Price; Shaun Dyson; Jamie Lonergan; Thomas Hughes.

In the Brian Bebb Shield after two rounds the leader is Steve Roberts 14 points; with Simon Nicholas and Wyn Lewis in joint second place with 10 points each.

Presentation was carried out by John Price Club Captain and Leigh Evans sponsor of the day.

On the last Saturday in the year December 28 a stableford whisky trot will be played which will club Captain John Price last competition of his very successful year as captain in the centenary year.

Captain’s Presentation

AFTER the monthly medal presentation the club Captain presented gifts to Mike Durward; Lyndon Brown and Owain Picton for their assistance during his year of captaincy. Mike has done a lot of work on the course by planting and taking care of the flower boarders and shrubs. Lyndon as we all know spends a lot of his spare time on the course as chairman of the greens committee and has helped a great deal in making Milford Haven course one of the best in South Wales. Owain has been associated with the club for 19 years; serving 17 of those on the executive committee with 15 as chairman of competitions; fixtures and handicaps; he has also been press secretary for the last nine years and will be standing down from this post in the new year; John also presented a gift on behalf of the club to Owain for services rendered.

Welsh Golfing Union Club of the Year

IT was recently announced by the Golf Union of Wales that Milford Haven Golf Club has been voted as one of the runners up in the Golf Union of Wales Club of the Year competition which this year was won by Langland Bay Golf Club who was in runners up spot in 2012.

The presentation was held at Celtic Manor Hotel on Friday, December 20 and was attended by Club Secretary Steve Brown.


ON a lovely day for golf the ladies section played the final round of the Joan Gale nine hole competition on Tuesday, December 17 when eleven ladies took part. The course was wet because of the very heavy rain over the previous few days which prevented the use of buggies; the greens were in excellent condition for the time of year as they were quick and true. The Joan Gale competition is played over nine holes once a month from September to December inclusive, and the lady with the best individual score wins the Joan Gale Trophy.

Overall Winner; Denise Kimber 19 points

0-21- Barbara Phillips 18 points

22 – 36 points; Eileen Davies

After the golf the ladies enjoyed a small buffet with mince pies back in the clubhouse with the presentation being carried out by the ladies Captain Pat Evans.


THE seniors’ turkey held last Thursday under the new captaincy of Martyn Price was cancelled because of the very heavy rain some of the seniors did venture out but did not complete their rounds because of the rain.

With no competition Christmas week the next seniors’ competition will be held on Thursday, January 2 when a stableford will be played with the first draw will be at 10.30am.


LAST Saturday, the junior section played a stableford competition which was won by Jay Power with an excellent 41 points.

New Year’s Eve

MEMBERS please note that tickets can be obtained from Club Captain John Price for New Year’s Eve which will be a buffet and Music; tickets are £15 each. Captain John Price will hand over the captaincy to the new incoming Captain Gwyn Scale, both will drive off the first tee at midnight.

South West Pembs Golf Alliance

THE December meeting of the above alliance will be held at St David’s City golf club on Thursday 2nd January 2014 please note the change of date for this competition which is open to full members of Haverfordwest; Milford Haven; South Pembs and Tenby Golf Clubs; for tee times please phone 07527004015 or by email contact

Roll up and Christmas Dinner

LAST Tuesday, club members who played in the Tuesday Roll Ups through out the year played 18 holes of golf and then dined in the Greens Restaurant with an excellent meal prepared by Barry and Emma and their staff; congratulations to Barry and their staff at Greens Restaurant who has recently been selected as the best Sunday Lunches in Pembrokeshire for 2013.

The day was organised by Richard Setterfield who collects money off the players each week they play towards the dinner. The roll ups will recommence on Tuesday, January 7 and is open to all full gents’ club members’ first draw will be at 11am after the ladies have teed off.

The competition on the day was won by the following players;

1st Russell James 38 points

2nd Rolly Council 37 points

3rd Alan John 36 points

The twos competition with th e prize of 15 Titlist golf balls was won by Owain Picton only two on the day on the par three 10th Hole “Boundary” (should last him a couple of weeks).

December 200 Club Prize Winners

£500 - 49 - Trevor George

£50 - 36 - Ray Andrews

£30 - 179 – MP Williams

£20 - 141 - Mike Arnold

Club Secretary Steve Brown who is also the 200 club organiser stated after the December Draw which was held last Saturday in the club lounge and there are still a few spare numbers for the 200 Club; cost of a number is £2 per month with 12 monthly prizes of £50; £30; £20.00 with four quarterly prizes of £500. Anyone interested in taking up a number please contact Steve.