Neyland make it six indoor titles in a row

2:32pm Tuesday 11th February 2014

NEYLAND ‘A’ are Pembrokeshire Indoor Cricket Champions for the sixth year on the trot after easily beating a young and relatively inexperienced Whitland side that had earlier lost to Haverfordwest.

Paul Davies and his Whitland youngsters arrived at the Meads knowing that two wins would earn them a share of the superb indoor trophy but they bowed out to Haverfordwest, who lost only two wickets in chasing a target of 114 to win.

It guaranteed The Town second spot in the table as Whitland’s tight bowling and disciplined fielding saw Whitland shot out for 56 in only 6.3 of their allotted ten overs before the Hannon twins, skipper Sean and Patrick, eased Neyland home without losing a wicket.

The indoor league trophy was presented to Sean Hannon by Bill Carne, in the absence of sponsor Nick Evans, and he thanked the teams for playing entertaining cricket, Wendy Bradshaw for excellent organisation of the competition in conjunction with Allan Hansen, who also umpired alongside John Williams, and Kirsty Hughes for scoring.

Match One:

Whitland (113 all out) lost to Haverfordwest (116 for 2)

WHITLAND'S inexperience was shown in their opening match against Haverfordwest as five of their batsmen were run out, only Connor Bowen avoiding that fate as he was caught by Jonathan Strawbridge off the bowling of Simon Holliday. Paul Davies and Dan James batted really well before retiring when they reached 25 apiece but came back late in the innings – only to suffer the same fate in the late quest for runs.

A target of 114 for victory seemed a challenge for The Town after Nitin Mathias was caught off the wall by Geraint Jones for only a single – but Ben Field and Simon Holliday both sped to 25 before retiring, as did skipper Danny Potter. Jonathan Strawbridge was run out for two runs but that let Field back in to join young Kieran O’Connor in hitting the winning runs with four balls still to spare.

Whitland Batting:

Paul Davies run out 31

Geraint Phillips run out 19

Dan James run out 27

Geraint Jones run out 6

Connor Bowen ct Jonathan Strawbridge b Simon Holliday 14

Jack Bowen run out 6

Extras 10

Total (all out) 113

Haverfordwest Bowling:

Simon Holliday 1-13, Danny Potter 0-27, Kieran O’Connor 0-25, Ben Field 0-21, Nitin Mathias 0-17.

Haverfordwest Batting:

Ben Field not out 35

Nitin Mathias ct Geraint Jones b Geraint Phillips 1

Simon Holliday retired 27

Danny Potter retired 25

Jonathan Strawbridge run out 2

Kieran O’Connor not out 9

Extras 7

Total (2 wickets) 116

Whitland Bowling:

Dan James 0-24, Geraint Phillips 1-22, Geraint Jones 0-23, Connor Bowen 0-17, Jack Bowen 0-17.

Match Two:

Whitland (56 all out) lost to Neyland ‘A’ (58 for 0)

WHITLAND found it hard going after they had been asked to bat first by Neyland skipper Sean Hannon, who was soon heavily involved as he ran out Geraint Phillips and then took good catches to respectively shift top scorer Dan James (18) and Geraint Jones for a duck off the bowling of brother Patrick and Henry Durrant.

At the other end, keeper Paul Murray showed his sharpness as he ran out Paul davies and After Connor Bowen had also been run out his brother Jack gave a return catch to Andrew Miller to leave Whitland with only 56 runs as a lowly total.

The Hannon twins were soon in action as they judged their runs superbly and took the score to 51 without loss before Patrick retired on 25. Andrew Miller played one shot and it was appropriately left to Sean Hannon to hit the winning runs as he remained undefeated on 24.

Whitland Batting:

Paul Davies run out 7

Geraint Phillips run out 9

Dan James ct Sean Hannon b Patrick Hannon 18

Geraint Jones ct Sean Hannon b Henry Durrant 0

Connor Bowen run out 5

Jack Bowen ct & b Andrew Miller 11

Extras 6

Total (all out) 56

Neyland ‘A’ Bowling:

Patrick Hannon 1-7, Nick Koomen 0-16, Andrew Miller 0-17, Henry Durrant 1-4, Sean Hannon 1-0-9-0.

Neyland ‘A’ Batting:

Sean Hannon not out 24

Patrick Hannon retired 25

Andrew Miller not out 3

Extras 6

Total (0 wickets) 58

Whitland Bowling:

Jack Bowen 0-14, Geraint Jones 0-5, Dan James 0-8, Connor Bowen 0-10, Geraint Phillips 0-17.


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

Milford Mercury: site_logo

Click 2 Find Business Directory