Haverfordwest County Youth 2

Cambrian & Clydach Youth 0

HAVERFORDWEST County Youth played some excellent football to fend off the strong challenge of a Cambrian and Clydach Youth team to reach the final.

They will play the winners of the other semi between West End or Afan Lido.

The platform for victory was established in the first half when Haverfordwest played some scintillating stuff to take a deserved two-goal lead but coaches Steve Batty and Colin Fawcett were pleased with the way that they battled against a physically robust opposition in a second half which was scrappy but was a nervy affair.

It was team captain Jack Britton who scored for the Young Bluebirds after only eight minutes as he latched on to the rebound of a Gregg Walters’ shot that Liam Halford could only parry into his path.

The home back four also had a terrific game as central defenders Ryan Mansell and Gwion Howell shackled Liam Jones and Michael O’Sullivan up front for Cambrian and Clydach. Full backs Dan Harding and Spencer Williams not only defended well but looked composed as they pushed forward, also Glen Fiteni and Joe Brill completed a commanding midfield. Brill had a cracking header superbly blocked by Halford and Fiteni shot just wide as they pushed forward.

On the only occasion that the visitors really threatened Josh Hicks made an excellent parry and Harding was there to scoop the ball out of danger. He then helped set up the chance for Walters and Haworth to threaten in attack and when the ball fell to Fawcett near the penalty spot he fired home a vital second goal with aplomb, just before the interval.

Jack Britton was man of the match; Gregg Walters, Laurie Haworth, Joe Brill and Liam Fawcett never stopped running.

Haverfordwest County: Josh Hicks: Dan Harding; Ryan Mansell; Gwion Howell; Spencer Williams: Joe Brill; Glen Fiteni; Jack Britton (Capt): Liam Fawcett; Gregg Walters; Laurie Haworth. Subs: Dan Jenkins; Owen Coombs; Liam Davies; Mark Davies; Lloyd Hughes.

Cambrian & Clydach: Liam Halford: Nathan Williams; Harri Jones; Josh Phillips; Levi Jones; Brython Payne; Michael O’Sullivan; Jordan Tingle; Alex Davies; Liam Jones; Tyler Thorne. Subs: Corbin Bishop; Rhys Cutts.