LAST Saturday, the gents section played for the Navy Shield which marks the start of the new season.

This match is now played for by the Captain’s team against the vice captain’s team. The match was originally played for by the Navy ex –servicemen against the club members and later changed to all ex-servicemen versus club members.

With some of the results very close with seven of the matches going to the last hole

The result was a half six and a half matches each so the shield was shared for 2014

Match Results

Gwyn Scale & Matthew Hearne beat Jonathan Dyble and Mark Summons 4&3

Shaun Dyson & Daniel Flynn beat Lyndon Brown and Darryl Cleverly 1 up

Mike & Tim Edds beat Liam & Paul Eva 4 & 3

Richard Satterfield & Tristian Carlson lost to Nathan Day I down

Mike Buck& Mike Jones lost to John Price & David Humphreys 4 &2

Andrew Smith & Michael Boulton beat Ivor McKenzie &Jake Lewis 1 up

Matthew Humphreys & Mike Durward lost to Andrew Rees & Richard Brock 5&4

Paul Pullen & Andrew Picton beat Paul Kingston & Tony Davey 4&3

Phil Davies & Brian Keen lost to Adam Bayjoo & John Rees 5&4

Don Wells &Bobby Williams beat Sean Conway &Maurice Coe 3&1

Peter Taylor & Wayne Warlow lost to Gerald Slate & Jackie Jenkins 2 down

Tony Goodridge & Peter fowler half with Tony Potter & Barry Harding

Jamie Griffiths & Wynn Lewis lost to Glyn Griffiths & Chris Harding 2 down

Presentation was carried out by club captain Gwyn Scale and Jonathan Dyble

On Saturday 3rd April the rearranged February Monthly Medal will be played which will also be a qualifier for points for the Brian Bebb Shield. The monthly medal will be sponsored by Alex Youds.


LAST Tuesday, 13 ladies played in their weekly stableford competition with the weather mainly dry and sunny. It was Barbara Phillips back to winning ways who took first place with ladies captain pat Evans in runners-up spot.


1, Barbara Phillips 32 points

2, Pat Evans 31 points

Veronica John hit the only two.

Last Saturday, the ladies played their bi annual match between the ladies captain’s team and the ladies vice-captain’s team on a dry but breezy day; it was the ladies captain’s team which won the shield after some equally matched four balls. The captain’s team was led by Pat Evans with her vice- captain Karen Lewis skippering her own team.

There were three twos by Jan Goodridge 6th hole; Jackie Skelhorn 6th hole and Anne Robinson 10th hole.

On Sunday, the ladies were back on the course for their first Rookery Nook medal competition of the season when thirteen ladies took part.


1, Barbara Phillips; 2, Jackie Skelhorn.


LAST Tuesday, the seniors played their weekly competition instead of the normal Thursday as the team was played Haverfordwest Golf Club.


1, Russell James 38 points

2, Bobby Williams 36 points

3, John Clarke 34 points

Last Thursday, the seniors played Haverfordwest Golf Club for their first away match of the season and lost five and a half matches to one and a half; the stars for Milford were Mike Durward and Tony Davey who won their game with Brian Mitchell and Gerald Charles halving theirs.

The seniors’ stableford competition will be the first qualifier for points for the Colin Reynolds Salvers; first draw at 10.30am. The following week the stableford competition will be held on Tuesday, April 8 with the first draw after the ladies’ competition at 11.15 am.

South Wales Seniors Classic

THE draw for the first round of the South Wales Seniors Classic was announced with mixed feelings in the senior section with the A Team having a home draw against Carmarthen B team and the Seniors B team having to travel to the Swansea area to take on Mond Valley A team.

The two seniors’ squads have been selected.

A Squad: Martyn Price, Andrew Smith, Russell James, Roy John, Owain Picton, Gwyn Scale, Ken Edwards, Mike Buck, Paul Pullen, Dick Wooding Jnr, Gwyn French, Rolly Council.

B squad: Brian Mitchell, Tony Davey, Bert Jones, Mike Durward, Gareth Rees, David Christopher, Chris Harding, Brian Keen, Mike Ballantine, Dom Gianuzzi, Frank Rimmer, Rob Graham.


CONGRATULATIONS to Abe Forsythe who won the CEF Shield last Saturday with 38 points. This competition was the final competition in the 2013/14 winter league and the top golfer was Harley Holmes with Josh Lewis runners-up.

Mini Golf

THE mini golf competition was played last Saturday.


1, Naomi Charnley 21 shots

2, Bobby Jenkins 24 shots


THE lists are on the board for the Tigers first two Dyfed Division One league matches of the season.

Rotary Charity Golf Tournament

MEMBERS and their guests are welcome to enter teams in the Rotary Club of Milford Haven Sponsored Charity Golf Tournament which will be held at Milford Haven Golf Club on Monday 5th May.

March 200 Club Draw

£500 - No 28 - Paul Kingston

£50 - No 19 - Alan Hawthorn

£30 - No 108 - Steve Warlow

£20 - No 3 - Mike Anderson

Press secretary stands down

MERCURY Sport would like to thank Owain Picton for his tremendous press coverage that has spanned over at least a decade. He has stood down and can now enjoy a thoroughly deserved retirement. The club have appointed new manager Simon Constance who will handle all press and web site reports. All captains and organisers of club sections with any news and results for the press coverage should telephone Simon on 01646 697762 or by email no later than 10am on Monday mornings.