Neyland ease to victory

11:02am Tuesday 3rd June 2014

Neyland (68 for 4) beat Saundersfoot (64 all out)

THE fastest finish of the day in the top echelon undoubtedly came at Neyland as the home side hustled out a 10-man Saundersfoot outfit for 64 and although they lost four wickets reaching their target the home team were always in control.

Nathan Banner was the main strike force for the champions as he bowled with pace and accuracy in his seven overs (three maidens) to return figures of 5 for 9, ably assisted by Henry Durrant (2 for 21), Andrew Miller (1 for 8) and Nick Koomen (1 for 6).

‘Mr Extras’ topped the batting with 17 and there was 16 for James Morgan as Saundersfoot never recovered from 19 for 6, with skipper Paul Mansbridge and James Caine as two key batsmen dismissed for ducks.

To be fair to Neil Powling (3 for 18) and Morgan Slate (1 for 24) the Seasiders battled hard, and Simon Stanford showed total commitment in the field – but steady innings by Gregg Miller (19) and Ashley Sutton (18) was followed by 21 not out from Nick Koomen, including the winning boundary when the scores were level.

Umpires: Denis Chiffi & John Williams.

Scorers: John Laugharne & Adge John.


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

Milford Mercury: site_logo

Click 2 Find Business Directory