THREE Narberth RFC players formed part of the Carmarthen Warriors squad that reached the final of the Cardiff 7s on Sunday.

Jonny Morgan, Tomi Jones, and Jason Howells all featured in the side that went down 19-10 to the 'Wizards of Wales' in the final.

In truth, the Warriors probably left the tournament probably regretting their decision to miss out on the Rugby Rocks event in London in favour of the newly launched and much publicised local tournament.

Despite Sunday's elite competition offering good prize money, the Warriors found themselves facing only three other teams in front of a sparse crowd.

First up in the round-robin pool were the Glantaf Goats - fielding what appeared to be a more competitive side than the one the Warriors faced at Bournemouth.

The Goats provided a difficult opening test as the Warriors ran out 17-14 winners with tries from both Morgan and Howells.

The Aberavon based side Wizards of Wales were next, fresh from clinching the previous day's Open Tournament. Playing some of the best rugby seen by Warriors fans this season, the Carmarthenshire side ran out 26-21 victors.

With the Warriors now on form, their last game against the Steve Addicott Memorial 7 was one way traffic, with a final score 45-12.

This set up a rematch with Wizards of Wales in the Final. The game started well with Cardiff Uni and Bedwas colleagues Elliott Jones and Jay Thomas combining to score a try each. However, the Wizards really did work some magic in the second half to score three tries without reply to win 19-10.

The Warriors will now take a long rest, and look to prepare for the Sevens in the City tournament on July 12. A massive weekend for Warriors rugby will await - as the tournament will be shown on BT Sport with successful sides getting the chance to compete against the best IRB International teams.

Prior to that the Flamingoes womens team look to open their season at Chester and New Quay.

Carmarthen Warriors: Wayne Price (Penybanc) Jonny Morgan, Jason Howells, Tomi Jones (Narberth), Lawrence Reynolds (Llandovery) Jack Maynard, Elliott Jones, Jay Thomas (Bedwas) Gareth James (Ystalyfera) Owain Morgan (Llanelli).