Lawrenny (126 all out) lost to Neyland (246 for 1) by 120 runs

NEYLAND took another giant step towards retaining their league title as they not only beat Lawrenny but defied the weather in doing so to pick up maximum points as Nick Koomen and Ashley Sutton were able to celebrate unbeaten centuries in the process.

Both scored 107 not out after Sean Hannon (13) had been shifted early by Jamie Lewis, with Koomen stroking 11 boundaries whilst Sutton continued his recent superb form with five fours and five sixes.

They also ran well between the wickets in an undefeated stand of 218 runs, with 48 of those coming in the last five overs as Neyland piled on the pressure.

Lawrenny needed big runs from one of their experienced batsmen but only Andrew Cole (22), Alistair Edwards (27), Patrick Elliott (22) and Matt Lewis (17 not out) managed double figures against Nathan Banner (1 for 37), Gary Lloyd (1 for 35) and Nick Koomen (2 for 13) before Andrew Miller (2 for 27) and Henry Durrant (3 for 9 in only five overs) finally saw Neyland home.

Denis Chiffi & Dai Morris.

Scorers: Malcolm Thomas & John Laugharne.