Neyland (138 for 2) beat Llanrhian (136 for 6) by eight wickets

NEYLAND'S only league defeat of the season came at Llanrhian but the current leaders and reigning champs gained ample revenge at the Athletic Ground as they passed Llanrhian’s total with only two wickets down and having taken just 31 overs.

Llanrhian knew that they needed a large total to put pressure on Neyland’s powerful batting line up but they were unable to maintain a high run rate so they were on 96 for 4 with only 11 overs left, despite a typically forceful 53 (eight boundaries) from Gareth Davies. Ben Jones (16) and Luke Jones (12) also managed double figures but Andrew Miller exerted a major influence on their final score as he grabbed 5 for 39 in his 12 overs of slow stuff.

But Llanrhian were able to move to a reasonable final total as they scored 40 runs in the latter stages, thanks almost exclusively to 43 not out from Jack Jones (five fours).

Although Neyland lost Scott John (14) and Ashley Sutton relatively cheaply they then had a boundary-laden unbroken stand of over 100 between Nick Koomen and Paul Murray.

Koomen struck ten fours in his undefeated 57 whilst Murray marked his return from injury be hitting four big sixes in his 44 not out, with Matthew Bennett and Luke Jones the only Llanrhian bowlers to claim a wicket each.

Umpires: Steve Blowes & Richard Merriman.