Whitland (136 all out) lost to Cresselly (233 for 5) by 97 runs

CRESSELLY maintained their recent good form as they batted their way to a big score at Whitland and then shifted the opposition to such good effect that they won by almost 100 runs.

After 30 overs of the Cresselly innings their total of 118 for 5 must have given Whitland an air of satisfaction but then Simon Cole (45) and Brad McDermott-Jenkins (63) shared an unbroken stand of 121 where Cole struck four fours and two sixes and McDermott-Jenkins smashed nine fours and two sixes.

Scott Newton suffered most from their onslaught as he finished with 3 for 76 alongside Mark Lee (1 for 40) and Leighton O’Connor (1 for 48) as the only Whitland wicket-takers, whilst Phil Williams (11), Matthew Morgan (36) and Harry Thomas (35) were the other Cresselly scorers in double figures.

Paul Davies (45) top scored for Whitland and found some support from Leighton O’Connor (34) and Connor Bowen (16) but those knocks apart it was one-way traffic against Tom Murphy (3 for 13 in eight impressive overs), Stefan Jenkins (3 for 56), Brad McDermott-Jenkins (3 for 34) and Simon Cole (1 for 1).

Umpires: Les Hastings & Dai Morris.

Scorers: Janice Webb & David Richards.