THERE was superb support for Chris Davies’ President's Day with 100 including gents and ladies taking part.

The gents were playing for the prestigious President's Putter steeped in club history. The course was in excellent condition although the playing conditions troublesome because of a tricky wind.

Tish boy Karl Rhead showed his class and emerging talent by scoring an excellent 42 points to become overall winner and also winner of the 15-28 category, closely followed by form golfer Gareth Fairburn and Lea Nicholas both with 41 points. Gareth winning the 0-14 category from Lea on countback.

There was also some excellent scoring in the junior section with Harley Holmes a clear winner with 41points.

The presentation was carried out by President Chris Davies ably assisted by Chairman of Competitions Dai Humphreys. Sadly this was Chris's final year as President, a position he has held for five years, during which he has overseen and been instrumental in bringing financial stability to the club. The dedication and business nous which he has brought to the role of President must not be underestimated and for which the membership needs to be deeply appreciative of Chris. In his address he wished his successor David Britton well for a successful term of office when he takes over towards the end of the year.



Overall Winner Karl Rhead 42 pts


1, Gareth Fairburn 41 pts

2, Lea Nicholas 41 pts (losing on count back)

3, Tom Hughes 39 pts


1, Karl Rhead 42 pts

2, Chris Harding 40 pts

3, Grant Arnold 38 pts

Longest Drive 17th hole: Shaun Dyson

Nearest the pin 6th holeL J P Martin

Nearest the Pin 16th hole: Callum Day

Twos winners were Peter Fowler x2, Dean Bryant, Gareth Fawcett, Tom Hughes, Dan Arnopp-Rees, Lea Nicholas, Nathan Day and Bernie Hewett.

The good scoring meant that there were a number of handicap reductions most noticeably Andrew Davies who lost 7 shots having scored a quite remarkable 53 points, but regrettably suffering disqualification along with playing partner Dale Hawkins because unfortunately their cards were not available.

Karl Rhead 19-18, Dale Hawkins 28-27, Chris Harding 16-15 Andrew Davies 28-21 and Gareth Fairburn 4-3.


1, Harley Holmes 41 pts

2, Abe Forsyth 39 pts

3, Callum Day 38 pts


LAST Thursday saw a fine day’s golf for the senior captains with a total entry of 47, competition was tight and in keeping with the theme for this year scores were high


Captain's Prize

1, Alan John 43pts

2, R Council 42pts

3, T Dean 41pts

Best 71 and over

Winston Price 40pts

Longest Drive - Bryn Gee.

Nearest the Pin - Peter Darbyshire.

Six twos: Bert Jones x2, J Jenkins, M Durward, A John, B Gee.

In conjunction with Captains prize the Past Captains played for the Woodbine Trophy, which was donated by George F James in his Captains year.

Winner - Peter Ryder with 40pts.

The senior captain Martyn Price presented all the winners with their prizes and thanked all the members who played for their support during the year and on the day.

Dick Wooding responded by thanking Martyn for the wonderful day and the refreshments on the 8th tee.


LAST Tuesday, 12 ladies played in their weekly tournament in beautiful sunny weather. The winner was Liz Durward with 37 points, and the runner-up was Mary Christopher also with 37 points, but losing out on countback. There were three twos recorded: Keri Broome, Mary Christopher and Denise Kimber.

Last Saturday, 15 ladies played in the Club President's Day. There were three prizes for the Ladies Category and the winner was Pearl Slate with 38 points, second was Barbara Phillips with 36 points and third was Captain Pat Evans with 35 points.

The next big event for the Ladies Section will be their Open Day which takes place on (today) Thursday, 7 and a warm welcome is extended to all the visiting ladies who have signed up to support the club.


LAST Friday, rain coming in heavy downpours with sunny intervals the juniors played host to competitors from all over Pembroke and even some visitors from England for the Junior Open.

Fortunately the weather improved as the day went on.

Much credit must be given to Simon Nicholas organising the event and all volunteers who helped on the day.

There was much excellent golf played and all the competitors should be proud of themselves. The winning scores would not have looked out of place in an adult competition, and the sportsmanship of all the competitors were exemplary.

Boys Gross

01st - Luke Harries (Tenby) 73 (back 6)

02nd - Brandon Cooper (MH) 73

Boys Net

01st - Ben Jones (G, A) 75/64

02nd - Abe Forsyth (MH) 77/65

Boys Stableford

Ben Fairburn (MH) - 55

2nd - Alex Starling (MH) - 45


01st - Carys Worby (NL) - 38 pts

02nd - Emilie Lewis (Ten) - 38 pts (back 6)

Short Course Winner - Rebbeca Harries (Carms)

02nd - Jack Jenkins (MH) & Brodi Lewis (Tenby)

Mini Golf

Putting Winner - Ethan John

Mini golf course winner - Luca Mihail Ichim

Overall Winner - Tommy Vaughan-Harries

Milford Junior Section July Monthly Medal - sponsored by Port Engineering

Winner - Brandon Cooper (nett 65)

Runner-up - Jay Power (nett 68).