Neyland defied the bad weather at Crickmarren to gain their second win on the trot against a Pembroke outfit which played its part in a traditionally hard-fought derby but rarely looked likely to snatch the verdict.

The teams had drawn 24-apiece at the Athletic Ground and the pundits had expected that the Scarlet pack might be too strong for the All Blacks.

But it was not the case as the Neyland tight five kept plugging away and the back row of Colin Picton, Mark Chamberlain and Chris Busby was heavily involved alongside skipper Mathew Williams at the base of the scrum.

The All Blacks also welcomed back Mark Riley at outside half and Adam Collins on the wing and the pair contributed a great deal, with Collins going close in a tight first half.

After good work by Martin Roberts, Riley landed the only points of the first half as he slotted a penalty from the last kick of the period after previously making a hash of a drop goal attempt.

Pembroke tried to use the power of Mark Williams in midfield alongside their big back row, but good covering by Roberts, Collins and Delme Bateman wide out, plus Steve Hamer and Andrew Slark bottling up the middle, meant that the Scarlets had few chances, despite the efforts of skipper Gareth Jones to raise their tempo.

Neyland scored two good tries after the interval as referee Martin Howells (Ammanford) continued to control play well.

Colin Picton grabbed the first after good work by Steve Hamer and Adam Collins before another from veteran back rower Chris Busby after Hamer had again been involved and did well to off-load his pass.

Mathew Williams also looked likely to score a third try but was held up on the line with two players hoping for a pass outside him.

But it mattered little and the All Blacks followed their surprise success over Pontarddulais with this deserved victory.

Pembroke: Lewis Davies, Geraint Jackson, Mark Williams, Barry Bowen, Huw Day, Phil Williams, Darren Gilbert, Richard Morris, Gareth Jones (capt), James Walters, Dai Beynon, Gavin Nicholas, James Roberts, Steve Dyde, Robin Badham. Replacements: Ross McNally, Scott Bowen, Tom Surtees.

Neyland: Martin Roberts, Delme Bateman, Steve Hamer, Andrew Slark, Adam Collins, Mark Riley, Mathew Williams, Ben Lloyd, Craig Bennett, Robert Codd, Gareth Hein, Carl Britton, Colin Picton, Mark Chamberlain, Chris Busby. Replacements: Gregg Miller, Tony Smith-Howell, Mark James, Mark Hamer.