Volunteers from Milford Haven and across the county have been honoured at a special awards ceremony in recognition of their hard work and dedication.

PAVS Volunteering Pembrokeshire organised the event during Volunteers Week at the Pavilion Hall in Withybush, which more than 170 people attended.

More than 15 voluntary organisations had exhibition stands at the event and throughout the day, a variety of therapists offered a choice of treatments to volunteers as a thank you for all their voluntary work throughout the year.

At the ceremony High Sheriff of Dyfed, David Pryse Lloyd, presented the awards.

To find out more about volunteering and get involved, contact Caroline Graham at PAVS on 01437 769422 or volunteering @pavs.org.uk.

Award winners in full: Young volunteer of the year award (under 25): Nicholas Wilson, Neyland Youth Centre; Highly commended: Nia Lewis PATCH (Pembrokeshire Action to Combat Hardship) and Tamara O’Leary – Pembrokeshire Special Needs Gymnastics Club.

Volunteer of the year award (over 25): Anny Stanyard, Veteran Horse Welfare; Commended: Liz Mills, Pembrokeshire Citizens Advice Bureau; Ann Lewis, Pembrokeshire MIND Befriending Project and Ralph Dunbar, chairman of British Heart Foundation, Narberth branch.

The Mary Sigley Award (where volunteering has made a huge difference to the life of a volunteer): Pat Smith, RSVP Friends in the Classroom Volunteer; Highly commended: Dorothy Henton, PATCH; Commended: Stuart McClean, Pembrokeshire MIND and Sharon Jordan, Pembrokeshire Advocacy.

Trustee Award: Sheila Russell, chairman of Pembrokeshire MIND Trustee Board; Highly commended: Ralph Dunbar, chairman of British Heart Foundation, Narberth branch.

Group award for a group of volunteers working within one organisation (volunteers aged primarily over 25): Haverfordwest and Pembrokeshire Samaritans; Highly commended: Pembrokeshire MIND Resource Centre volunteers; Commended: PATCH Volunteers and RSVP Knitting Network.

Youth group award for a group of young volunteers within one organisation (volunteers aged primarily under 25): PATCH Young Volunteers; Highly commended: Pembrokeshire Special Needs Gymnastics Club; Commended: Pembrokeshire Youthbank.

Millennium volunteers certificates (recognising young peoples volunteering activities): 50 hours: Lynsey Salmon, PATCH; Glen Conbeer, Tenby Cubs, Pembrokeshire Coast National Park; Abigail Chapman: ‘Cook-It!’ Project, Haverfordwest VC School and Mosaic Community Café, Neyland; Lisa Stevens – PATCH. 100 hours: Sadie Matthews, Neyland Youth Centre; Shannon Roche – Neyland Youth Centre. 200 hours: James Matharu, Torch Theatre, Esteam, Stroke Association and Green Links; Jonathan Evans, Paul Sartori Foundation; Cathy Yau, Cancer Research Shop.