LAST Saturday, over 80 players turned out on a dry day with no wind for the medal competitions for the Russell Baynham Shield 0-14 and Ford Trophy 15-28.

Both competitions were qualifiers for points for Brian Bebb Shield and the Nicholas Scratch Cup. No fewer than 20 players played to par or less with Lea Nicholas winner 0-14 and Simon Holloway winner 15-2, both carded nett 64s which was six under standard scratch for the day.


Russell Baynham Shield 0-14

Mrs P M Baynham presented this shield in memory of her husband Russell who was a well-known sportsman in the area. The shield was first played for in 1975 and is a medal competition with a maximum handicap of 20. In 2007 the format was changed for players with handicaps of 0-14 to be played in conjunction with the Ford trophy15-28.

1, Lea Nicholas nett 64

2, Barry Harding nett 65

3, Nial Day nett 67

Ford Trophy 15-28

1st Simon Holloway nett 64

2nd Tony Potter nett 66

3rd Tony Pratt nett 66

The following players all had their handicaps reduced; Simon Holloway 26 to 23, Lea Nicholas 7 to 6, Barry Harding 13 to 11, Tony Potter 20 to19, Tony Pratt 20 to 19, John Price 10 to 9, Tony Canny 17 to 16, Gareth Bryant 23 to 22, Steve George 20 to 19.

In the Brian Bebb Shield points in the above competitions have been allocated to the following players; Simon Holloway 10 points, Lea Nicholas 9, Barry Harding 8, Tony Potter 7, Tony Pratt 6, Nial Day 5, John Price 4, Tony Canny 3, Gareth Bryant 2,

Steve Phillips 1.

No Changes at the top of the Brian Bebb Shield leader board which is as follows; Liam Eva 44 points, Matthew Okell 36 points, Gareth Fairburn 35 points.

Ten players recorded 12 twos between them. Richard Setterfield x 2, Gareth Fairburn x 2,

Jimmy Howells, Rob Devonald, Mike Arnold, Brian Mitchell, Nial Day, Maurice Coe, Steve Warlow, Lyndon Brown.

Presentation was carried out by club Captain John Price.

This Saturday, the gents section will play a medal competition for the Fishing News Cup for handicaps 0-14 and the Fred Dytor Trophy 15-28; both competitions are qualifiers for points for Brian Bebb Shield and the Nicholas Scratch Cup.


LAST Tuesday, the ladies section played their weekly stableford competition in nice weather.


1, Jackie Skelhorn 36 points

2, Pearl Slate 35 points

There were twos kitty was shared by Jackie Skelhorn and Enid De-wolf who both had their twos on the par 3; the fourth hole.

Last Sunday, on a lovely day for golf the ladies section played for the Nantucket Cup 0-25 and the Marjorie Harvey Cup 27+

Winners Nantucket Cup

1, Cheryl Eva nett 72

2, Jackie Skelhorn nett 73

Marjorie Harvey Cup

1, Wendt Summons nett 72

2, Sonia Davies nett 73

Besides the usual weekly stableford competitions the Ladies competition for this Sunday will be tee off from 11.15am.

This Sunday, the ladies will play their last league match of the season when they entertain Garnant Park.


LAST Tuesday, 28 seniors played in the stableford competition on a fine day for golf.


1, Tony Davey 42 points

2, Russell James 39 points winning on back nine score

3, John Sanderson 39 points

Four players shared the twos kitty with five twos between them. John Laugharne x2, Rob Graham, Bob Williams, John Nicholas.

CSS on the day 68 (39 Stableford points) which meant Tony Daveys handicap was reduced from 21 to 20 and Mark Davies and John Clarke each received one shot back.

Presentation was carried out by seniors Captain Gwyn French.

Congratulations and best wishes to Gwyn and Lucy from the senior section on their forthcoming wedding which is being held abroad.

Last Thursday, the match against South Pembs Golf Club was postponed; the match will be played this month.

Today (Thursday) the seniors will play a stableford counting competition which will be a qualifier for points for the Colin Reynolds Salvers. There are three more qualifying competitions after this one for the Colin Reynolds Salvers for 2013 season.

September 200 Club Draw

£500 - No 55 TB Richards

£50 - No 166 Emma Tully

£30 - No 91 Andrew Arnold

£20 - No 26 Alex Youds

Individual Membership Scheme (I.M.S )

Golf Tournament

Congratulations to Andrew Smith who won the IMS Competition at Rhuddlan Golf Club (North Wales) last Thursday, with 38 stableford points winning on the back nine score.

This is the second win that Andrew has had in the last few years. Other members of the club to play were Mike Durward and Owain Picton who were not placed in the top three.

The IMS is run by the Golf Union of Wales for former captains of affiliated clubs.

There are three golf tournaments played each year; one in east Wales; one in south west Wales and the third in north Wales.

M embership can be obtained by contacting Golf Union of Wales at their offices in Newport, Gwent. Milford hosted this tournament in July as part of their centenary celebrations.