Division Three West A:

Llangwm 12-32 Milford Haven

Milford Haven stay four points clear at the top of the table, albeit having played three more games than second placed Pembroke, following a bonus point win at Llangwm in a game switched to the bottom pitch at Pill Parks.

But The Mariners faced stout resistance from a Llangwm team which tackled like demons, and whose efforts were finally rewarded with two late tries.

"We played some good stuff and managed the conditions far better than we did against Aberaeron last week," said Milford coach Alan McClelland afterwards.

"But credit to Llangwm. They were much improved and are going in the right direction under coaches Robbie (Neill) and Colin (Picton)."

Milford had first use of the slight slope and breeze, and as a result enjoying a huge territorial advantage as they looked to make inroads with their big runners up front.

As a result they battered at The Wasps’ line but superb defence, ably led by a back row of James Reynolds, Ashley James and Josh Hicks, kept them out for some time.

Wasps’ centres James Lewis and Dan Chesmer made some huge hits and after one promising Mariners’ attack had been turned over there was a terrific surge out of defence by home hooker Gethin Thomas.

Props Ieuan Power and Dan Davies-Breeze were also in the thick of things whilst half backs Ian Griffiths and Luke Hayman always tried to utilise hard-won possession in kicking out of defence.

But in the final analysis the huge territorial advantage enjoyed by Milford was bound to bring points and they finally opened their scoring when young half backs Efan Morgan and Dan McClelland spread play wide and quick hands from Jimmy Thomas and Dan Jenkins saw full back Lee Riley cross in the top corner – although he sustained a dead leg in the process and was replaced by Craig Barnett, playing on permit from Tenby.

The visitors’ second score followed on the half hour when more pressure from the forwards through Mike Cockburn, Chris Hall, Chris Smith and Luke Ryan saw skipper Adam Rees crash over in the bottom corner – but he was winded as a result and had to receive treatment before returning to the fray after McClelland had hit the woodwork with the conversion attempt.

Cockburn, Hall, Charlie Biggs and Ben Groves also pitched in for Milford and yet another concerted drive saw veteran No 8 Mark Wonnacott score their third try as reward for another performance described by coach McClelland as ‘outstanding’ - and gave his side a 15-0 lead.

The Mariners also started the second half in the ascendancy and forward pressure saw Morgan and McClelland put centre James Thomas on a run to the posts for Craig Barnett to convert.

Co-centre Dan Jenkins added his name to the try-sheet with another well-worked score and McClelland converted before bustling flanker Craig Smith finished off his team’s ‘Maori Pop’ set piece move, with Wonnacott supplying the scoring pass.

It is to The Wasps’ credit that they refused to submit, however, and they contributed to an entertaining match in the conditions, with tries from Dan Chesmer, after a nice little shimmy from the centre, and second row Jason Mock as reward for a battling performance by the entire home pack.

Afterwards, Llangwm team manager Richard Scriven was full of priase for both sides.

"Both teams gave 100% and the game was watched by a good crowd," he said.

"Milford had the edge and produced some good tries out wide, but we had a never say die attitude and that showed with the last 10 points of the match."

Llangwm next host leaders Pembroke at Pill Parks on February 10, while Milford next play a week later (February 17) at home to Cardigan.

Llangwm: Rhys Cooper, Daniel Morgan, Dan Chesmer, James Lewis, Steve Picton, Luke Hayman, Ian Griffiths, Dan Breeze-Davies, Gethin Thomas, Ieuan Power, Gavin Jones, Jason Mock, James Reynolds, Ashley James, Josh Hicks. Replacements: Jamie Brayford, Jason Davies, Daniel Hughes, Mark Hicks, Sam Harries.

Milford Haven: Lee Riley, Jamie Lewis, James Thomas, Dan Jenkins, Dean McSparron, Dan McClelland, Efan Morgan, Mike Cockburn, Luke Ryan, Adam Rees, Chris Hall, Charlie Biggs, Ben Groves, Craig Smith, Mark Wonnacott. Replacements: Craig Barnett, Dan Birch, Dean Aldred, Dan Wonnacott, Darren Lewis.