Haverfordwest CC (72 for 0) beat Dales CC (71 all out)

HAVERFORDWEST were at their very best as they took a step closer to Lord's by hammering Dales CC at Tenby Leisure Centre yesterday.

The Town showed why they are the Welsh Indoor Cricket champions as they entertained the Herefordshire title holders and came away with a thumping win.

They dismissed the visitors for 71 in their allotted 12 overs and then reached their target without losing a wicket and with almost half their overs still left.

This success in the Wales and the Midlands Group means that The Town have taken another step towards their dream of a final appearance at Lord’s and now wait to find out their opponents are in the next stage.

It was an excellent all-round team performance but again it was Simon Holliday who led from the front as he shifted Jon-Jon Jones for a duck in his opening over, took a catch in Kieran O’Connor’s first over and then shifted Ian Jones to finish his three-over stint with of 2 for 12.

Not content with that he also effected a run out and then opened the Haverfordwest batting with Ben Field,  rasping four fours and a six before retiring after he had passed 25.

Young skipper Kieran O’Connor got The Town off to a good start by winning the toss and inviting the visitors to bat first and he also bowled three really good overs to end with a 1 for 19 haul, whilst Nigel Delaney only conceded 13 runs in his three overs and was unlucky not to have a couple of wickets.

Danny Potter grabbed the wicket of Ed Williams for 11 (one four and a six) and followed up with the only maiden of the match to finish with 1 for 19, helping to restrict Dales to only 29 for 3 at the half-way mark of their innings.

If there was a blemish on the performance in the field it was the fact that they conceded 23 extras, 15 of them from wides, but had two run outs as Holliday was again involved after Mike Batson had struck a six and four in his 23 runs – and keeper Huw Scriven ran out Alfie Stanik from the final ball of the innings.

Holliday and Field then set about The Dales bowlers safe in the knowledge that there was no need for any mad-cap dashes and they reached 60 before Holliday had to retire on 26, with Field stroking  two fours and a six en route to his undefeated 21.

Nigel Delaney joined him in strolling to a winning tally, assisted by 21 extras that included 17 runs from wides, and The Town were home and dry.

The event was superbly organised as ever by Peter Davies, with county chairman Paul Webb there to wish Haverfordwest good luck in their next tie and Dales a safe journey home. Neil Croucher was joined as umpires by Inga Bavers, who is the first lady to umpire at this level in the county but regularly officiates The Marches League, whilst the scorers were Haverfordwest cricketer Simon Williams and Phil Mellish, who is the Hon Secretary of the Indoor League in the Dales’ area.
Dales CC Batting:
Jack Rowsell ct Simon Holliday b Kieran O’Conner 5
Jon-Jon Jones b Simon Holliday 0
Ed Williams b Danny Potter 11
Mike Batson run out 23
Ian Jones b Simon Holliday 4
Alfie Stanik run out 5
Extras 23
Total (all out) 71
Haverfordwest CC Bowling:
Simon Holliday 3-0-12-2; Kieran O’Connor 3-0-19-1; Nigel Delaney 3-0-13-0; Danny Potter 3-1-19-1
Haverfordwest CC Batting:
Simon Holliday retired 26
Ben Field not out 21
Nigel Delaney not out 4
Extras 21
Total (0 wicket) 72
Dales CC Bowling:
Mike Batson 1-0-10-0; Ed Williams 1-0-11-0; Ian Jones 2-0-24-0; Jack Rowsell 2-0-17-0; Alfie Stanik 0.1-0-5-0

Umpires: Neil Croucher and Inga Bavers
Scorers: Simon Williams and Phil Mellish
Organiser: Peter Davies.
Venue: Tenby Leisure Centre.