Division One West: Tenby United 14-26 Gowerton

The Seasiders were again left wondering what might have been despite fighting back from a poor first half display against Gowerton.

The visitors led early on through a penalty from Paul Spowart, and proceeded to punish any errors from the home side as from turnover ball, full back Luke Jones broke clear in midfield before putting winger Scot Potts in at the corner.

Spowart was off target with the conversion but then landed another three points from long, and continued to punish home indiscipline with a third penalty to make it 0-14.

The dominance of the away side continued as Matthew Cherry touched down from a driving lineout and after losing winger Jordan Asparassa to injury, thing got worse for Tenby from when a close range scrum, away No 8 Lewis Bradley touched down and Spowart converted to seal a 0-26 half time lead.

But the second half was a different story as home coach Gareth Thomas brought on forwards Dan Allen, Tom Barrass and Ethan Morgan and after several chances went begging, winger Jack Parkinson evaded several tackles with a strong run before off loading to replacement Moritz Neumann, who crossed out wide for a try No 10 Lloyd Thomas superbly converted.

Tenby winger Geraint Powell was denied when the scoring pass to him was adjudged forward, but he did then cross the whitewash after a break from lively centre Aaron James, Thomas again converting to bring his side back wo within eight points.

James continued to threaten as The Seasiders pushed for another late score, but time ran out leaving both sides perhaps disappointed at missing a bonus point.

It meant a fourth straight league defeat for Tenby – who will have to pick themselves up this Saturday for a tricky trip to Carmarthen Athletic in the National Plate competition.

Tenby United: Jordan Asparassa (Moritz Neumann), Geraint Powell, Pat Roberts, Aaron James, Jack Parkinson, Lloyd Thomas, Ben Pugh, Huw Evans, Mat Done (Dan Allen), Jack Davies (Ethan Morgan), Luke Dedman, Charlie Patching, Mike Davis (Tom Barrass), Roy Osborn, Harry Owen (Harry Phillips).