Welsh League Cup quarter final: Ynysygerwn 2-1 Haverfordwest County 

Against a Third Division side who were fielding a weakened team, the Bluebirds just could not get their game organised and even Ben Fawcett’s late equaliser was cancelled out by a deserved 90th minute winner for the hosts, writes Robert Nisbet.

Wayne Jones had had to make two changes and a positional switch from the side which had played Bala, with Jack Wilson replacing Danny Williams in attack, and Ricky Watts moving into Elliot Thomas’ place in midfield and new signing Jake Merry coming in at right back.

Merry later switched with Watts, but on a night of disappointment the 17-year-old Merry’s encouraging first start for the Bluebirds was a genuine positive. 

Otherwise there were several patchy performances in a Blues side which was competing against spirited amateur opposition and just failed to capitalise on the chances they did create. 

Fawcett looked the most lively of the attackers and Sean Pemberton the pick of the defence, but overall there never seemed be the cohesion to open up the Ynys defence. As a result it was the home side which opened the scoring when youngster Luke Griffiths nipped in to score in the 22nd minute.

There was a real attempt at a Blues rally in the second half as they constantly dictated the play in opposition territory but there were few signs of the conviction and incisiveness which were needed in the final third.

The home keeper had a good evening twice tipping shots onto his crossbar.

The Bluebirds also had two clear penalty calls turned down by referee Teifion Cook when Fawcett and Wilson seemed to be unfairly brought down. Eventually it was Fawcett who did score in the 73rd minute, but it was the home side which came with the big late surge for the winner, and appropriately it was manager Nick Maggs who grabbed the goal in the last minute.

Haverfordwest County: Kyle Stuart, Jake Merry, Leon Luby (Ashley Bevan), Sean Pemberton,  Tim Hicks, Ricky Watts, Tom Dyson (Fraser Finlay), Elliot Scotcher, Ben Fawcett, Jack Wilson, Kaid Mohamed. Subs not used: Gareth Finnegan,  Seamus Drake.