UK Indoor Cricket semi final: Neyland (103 all out) lost to Canterbury (105-1)

It wasn’t to be for Neyland at Lord’s on Sunday as their magnificent run in the UK Indoor Cricket finals was ended by Canterbury.

The Pembrokeshire side were reduced to 103 all out inside their 12 overs as Patrick Hannon top scored with 30, as the Kent side kept a lid on things via Justin McVicar (1-23), Isaac Dilkes (3-18), and Ben Cooper (1-25).

And they showed their class in the batting reply as Dilkes showed why he is involved in the England Under 19s set up with 26 retired, and they passed the total just one wicket down as Henry Durrant clean bowled Stuart Drakeley (19).

But despite defeat, skipper Sean Hannon had reason to be proud. 

“I would like to thank the squad and supporters, especially Ian Milsom (Scorer), Martin Jones (Chairman), Andrew Smith (Secretary) and Rob Bellerby (Treasurer), who all stayed overnight in London to support us, and everyone from who wished us luck.

“On reflection I have no complaints, we were beaten by the best team on display and they deserved it. Credit to our boys for their continued commitment as it has been a long campaign.

“It was pleasing to find out that around 1100 teams played indoor this year and we got to the final four. Although we didn’t win I’m very proud that our little home town club can compete with the larger clubs in England."

Neyland Batting:
Nick Koomen b Isaac Dilkes 11
Patrick Bellerby run out 9
Ashley Sutton ct Drakeley b Ben Cooper 12
Sean Hannon ct Justin McVicar b Isaac Dilkes 10
Patrick Hannon ct Sam Burt b Justin McVicar 30
Henry Durrant b Isaac Dilkes 0
Extras 31
Total (all out) 103 (in 11.5 overs)
Bowling: Max Campbell 3-0-19-0; Justin McVicar 2.5-0-23-1; Isaac Dilkes 3-0-18-3; Ben Cooper 3-0-25-1.

Canterbury Batting:
Isaac Dilkes retired 26
Sam Burt retired 25
Stuart Drakeley b Henry Durrant 19
Brad Cooper not out 17
Max Campbell not out 3
Extras 14
Total (1 wicket) 104 (in 11.3 overs)
Bowling: Sean Hannon 1-0-13-0; Patrick Hannon 1-0-20-0; Henry Durrant 3-0-29-1; Nick Koomen 3-0-18-0; Patrick Bellerby 2-3-0-9-0.

Umpires: Todd Holland, Keith Oram and Chris Stokes.

Scorers: Ian Milsom (Neyland) and Louisa Arnold (Canterbury).