2018 Ken Morris Cup Final: Carew 3rds (54 all out & 145 for 5) lost to Haverfordwest 3rds  by 9 wickets (124 for 7 & 77 for 1)

Haverfordwest 3rds retained the Ken Morris Cup after beating Carew in the re-arranged 2018 final at Narberth on Bank Holiday Monday. 

It turned out to be a good day at The Lewis Lloyd Ground and was well organised again by Richard Howell, who provided trophies for players, umpires and scorers, as well as gifts for those who had helped organise the day.

Haverfordwest were worthy winners and at tea looked as if an innings' victory might be on the cards after shooting out the very young Carew side for only 54 and then scoring 124-7 - but Ashley Smith brought hope to Carew with a counter attacking 67 not out from only 32 balls to set The Town 76 to win.

They reached that target in 14 overs for the loss of only one wicket as Filgi Varghese smashed a quick-fire 45 not out to see his side home.

Bad start for Carew as Town bowlers get on top:

The day started badly for the young Rooks as skipper Jeremy Griffiths was invited to bat by opposite number Jason Phillips and Haverfordwest opening bowler Paul Jenkins grabbed 3-11 in his five overs alongside Kapila Nawaratna (2-15).

Only skipper Griffiths managed double figures as he belted a big six and a four in his 22 before he was bowled by Varghese (3-13) attempting another big hit - and Matthew Vaughan took 2-11 to reduce Carew to 54 all out in only 17 overs.

Owen opens up for The Town:

Haverfordwest also lost three early wickets but James Marchant (20) and Owen Jones (40) put on 44 before Marchant was run out by a direct hit - and The Town were already level with seven wickets and ten overs in hand.

Jones eventually went after hitting five fours and a six before he was removed by teenager Elliott Waters - and skipper Griffiths picked up two wickets as he bowled the final over - but his team bowled 25 wides in their tally of 28 extras as Haverfordwest built a big lead.

Smith keeps Carew alive:

Carew's second innings also started badly as Nawaratna dismissed Rhys Canton and Ross Grieve cheaply and Gronow was run out by a direct hit from a boundary throw by Jones when he looked settled on 16.

Alex Wilks and Griffiths came and went but then Elliott Waters joined Ashley Smith in a rapid half century partnership, with Waters stroking four boundaries in his 26 not out as Smith plundered an unbeaten 67 from only 32 balls. He hammered six fours and three big sixes, two of them from the final deliveries by Matthew Vaughan.

Filigi fires in run chase:

It left The Town requiring 76 – and after losing Richard Davies (13), bowled by Ashley Smith, Filgi Varghese cut loose.

He belted seven fours in his 45 not out with support by teenager John Ebeneezer (9 not out) – and Haverfordwest easedhome with six overs and nine wickets to spare.

Smith awarded man of the match:

Man of the match adjudicator Bill Carne presented the glass trophy to Carew batsman Ashley Smith for his superb second innings knock.

Then the trophies were presented by members of the Morris family and the presentations were overseen by Howell, who has done so much to ensure the continued success of this popular competition.



Carew Batting:

Simon Gronow ct John Ebeneezer b Paul Jenkins 4

Rhys Canton ct Richard Davies b Paul Jenkins 2

Ross Grieve lbw Paul Jenkins 0

Ashley Smith b Kapila Nawaratna 7

Alex Wilks ct Matthew Vaughan b Kapila Nawaratna 0

Jeremy Griffiths b Filgi Varghese 22

Elliott Waters ct James Marchant b Matthew Vaughan 6

Morgan Broomhall ct Richard Davies b Matthew Vaughan 0

Aaron Hinman b Filgi Varghese 0

George Waters not out 3

Archie Smith b Filgi Varghese 0

Extras 10

Total (all out) 54

Haverfordwest Bowling: Paul Jenkins 5-0-11-3; Kapila Nawaratna 5-1-15-2; Filgi Varghese 4-0-13-3; Matthew Vaughan 3-0-11-2.

Haverfordwest Batting:

Richard Davies ct Ross Grieve b Arron Hinman 7

Filgi Varghese c Matthew Broomhall b Ashley Smith 4

John Ebeneezer b Ashley Smith 4

James Marchant run out 20

Owen Jones ct Ashley Wilks b Elliott Waters 40

Ashoka Senavirathna b Jeremy Griffiths 10

Jason Phillips b Jeremy Griffiths 3

Cyril Varghese not out 7

Paul Jenkins not out 1

Extras 28

Total (7 wickets) 124

Carew Bowling: Ashley Smith 5-0-24-2; Rhys Canton 3-0-18-0; Aaron Hinman 5-0-29-2; George Waters 4-0-28-0; Elliott Waters 2-0-21-1; Jeremy Griffiths 1-0-3-2.


Carew Batting:

Simon Gronow run out 16

Rhys Canton ct John Ebeneezer b Kapila Nawaratna 9

Ross Grieve b Kapila Nawaratna 3

Ashley Smith not out 67

Alex Wilks b Matthew Vaughan 2

Jeremy Griffiths run out 0

Elliott Waters not out 26

Extras 22

Total (5 wickets) 145

Haverfordwest Bowling: Paul Jenkins 5-0-15-0; Kapila Nawaratna 5-0-13-2; Filgi Varghese 2-0-27-0; Matthew Vaughan 5-0-57-1; Owen Jones 3-0-23-0.

Haverfordwest Batting:

Richard Davies b Ashley Smith 13

Filgi Varghese not out 45

John Ebeneezer not out 9

Extras 10

Total (1 wicket) 77

Carew Bowling: Ashley Smith 5-0-19-1; George Waters 5-0-26-0; Jeremy Griffiths 2-0-5-0; Aaron Hinman 2-0-17-0.

Umpires: Simon Richards & Micky Marsh.

Scorers: Alison Sanders (Haverfordwest) and Kerry Waters (Carew).