DT Pearce Cup snooker final

Two very good potting displays from Dan Bevan and Jamie Stanley ensured the Power Station Club retained the DT Pearce Cup at Milford Haven Conservative Club on Monday.

The match featured two of the top teams in Division Two, with Hook Sports Club winning the title and the Power Station being runners-up.

The final was played on a two doubles, two singles aggregate score format.

In the first singles frame both players scored freely in the early stages, but Dan Bevan (PS) got in with a 21 break and then went on to dominate Matthew Holder (Hook) for the rest of the frame, eventually winning by nearly 80 points.

In the second frame Martyn Davies and Phil Llewellyn (Hook) opened up a healthy lead, only to see it pegged back by Richard Thomas and Lee Goldsmith (PS) and the experienced pair from the Power Station went take the frame by 26 points.

Chris Holder (Hook) and Jamie Stanley (PS) shared the points in the third frame early on, but then Jamie opened up and made a contribution at nearly every visit to the table, winning the frame by 60 points.

With the Power Station leading by 118 points going into the last frame, the result was just academic, but for the record Paul Murray and Marc Stanley (PS) beat John Davies and Tim Cox by 14 points.

The men with the white gloves on were Colin McCarthy and Ian Ashworth.