Last Saturday saw the the opening tournament of the 2019 Pembrokeshire Darts Series take place at Pembroke Dock Harlequins RFC.

Welsh international Mikey Rees took the top prize by beating Stephen McDermott in the final, and therefore the cash prize of £150 and five points in the series. Stephen got £75 and three points for being the runner up, while losing semi finalists (two points) and quarter finalists (one point) were also rewarded.

In the preliminaries Steve McDermott beat Gareth Starling 4-; Harvey Boswell beat Tom Glover 4-1; Gareth Jones beat James Hall 4-1; Adrian Davies beat Brian Wonnacott 4-2; Martin Allerton beat Declan Coles 4-0; Kevin Roberts beat Gareth Lawler 4-0; Jeremy Evans beat Ann Marie-Davies 4-0.

In the first round proper Steve McDermott beat Harvey Boswell 4-1; Adrian Davies beat Gareth Jones 4-1; Martin Allerton beat Kevin Roberts 4-2 (with Kevin having a 12 dart leg); Jeremy Evans beat 'Chewy' 4-2, Rory Jolly beat Vincent McDermott 4-0; Robert Hughes beat Tony Skuse 4-1; Mikey Rees beat Tom Grover 4-1 and Wayne Perry beat Karl Milsom 4-0.

In the quarter-finals things started to warm up with Steve McDermott playing some excellent darts to beat Adrian Davies 4-1- with Adrian getting a 135 outshot. Martin Allerton beat Jeremy Evans 4-0, Robert Hughes beat Rory Jolly 4-2, and Mikey Rees beat Wayne Perry 4-0.

The stage was set for the semi-finals with four of the top players in the county going for the points.

Steve McDermott continued his blistering form and beat Martin Allerton 4-2 and in Mikey Rees pipped Robert Hughes 4-3 in a top quality game.

The final was set for the Trafalgar man Steve McDermott to take on the current Welsh player Rees, but the game didn't quite live up to expectations, as Mikey cruised to a 5-0 win and the winners prize and top points.

All who took part were thanked for their appearances and the club were thanked for their venue. The second leg of the series takes place at the Welcome Traveller, Tiers Cross, on Saturday, June 22. Again registration will be between 12pm and 1pm, with a cost of £6 per entrant. After that, the final two tournaments will be held at Milford United Football Club (Saturday, July 27) and the Narberth RAOB Club (Bank Holiday Saturday, August 26).