Division 1: Neyland (173-2) beat Lawrenny (171 all out) by 8 wickets

Neyland now have a 31 point lead at the top of Division 1 after Patrick Bellerby’s knock of 84 led them to a comfortable win over Lawrenny on Saturday.

That result, coupled with Cresselly being hammered by Haverfordwest, has opened up daylight between the champions and the chasing pack.

It completed a great week for Sean Hannon’s side, who on Thursday beat Cresselly in their DR Morris Cup quarter final and also signed talented all rounder Ross Hardy from Kilgetty.

Lawrenny arrived in good form but the returning Nathan Banner struck two early blows, removing openers Harry Thomas (6) and Kurtis Marsh (19) after the latter had got going with three fours.

The two James’, Phillips and Buckle, steadied matters though as the latter made 26 (three fours) and Phillips 32 (six fours) before both falling to Andrew Miller.

And ‘Windy’ would go on to take 5-57 in his 11 overs, also taking the crucial wicket of Joe Kidney after he’d made 33 with four fours and a six.

Banner finished with 2-37, Geraint Rees 1-20, and Tom Pritchard 2-5 in just 1.5 overs.

Lawrenny struck early in Neyland’s reply as Jamie Lewis bowled Koomen (9), but all that did was prompt a stand of 125 between Bellerby and Miller, who hit eight fours in his unbeaten 48.

Bellerby meanwhile, cracked 14 boundaries before being skittled by James Skeels just 16 short of a century, but Hardy announced his arrival at the club with three fours in a quickfire 13 not out to help finish the job.

It's now a big weekend coming up in the title race - with Neyland playing away at second palced Haverfordwest with the third and fourth places sides, Carew and Cresselly, also meet.

Lawrenny innings:
Harry Thomas ct Ross Hardy b Nathan Banner 6    
Kurtis Marsh ct Nicholas Koomen b Nathan Banner 19
James Phillips ct Nicholas Koomen b Andrew Miller 32    
James Buckle ct Sean Hannon    b Andrew Miller 26
James Skeels ct Nathan Banner b Andrew Miller 2
Brad McDermott-Jenkins ct Nathan Banner b Andrew Miller 12
Joe Kidney ct Nathan Banner b Andrew Miller    33
Steve Lewis st Sean Hannon b Geraint Rees    10
Ryan Morton ct Gregg Miller b Tom Pritchard 18
Rob Williams not out 8
Jamie Lewis ct Nathan Banner b Tom Pritchard 0
Extras 5    
Total: 171 all out off 43.5 overs.
Bowling: Nathan Banner 10-3-37-2, Henry Durrant 11-2-18-0, Andrew Miller 11-0-57-5, Ross Hardy 7-1-3-0, Geraint Rees 3- 2-0-1, Tom Pritchard 1.5-0-5-2.

Neyland innings:
Nicholas Koomen  b Jamie Lewis 9 
Patrick Bellerby b James Skeels 84
Andrew Miller not out 48
Ross Hardy not out 13
Total: 172 for 2 off 37.5 overs
Bowling: Jamie Lewis 6-1-15-1, Rob Williams 7-1-25-0, Brad McDermott-Jenkins 4-1-17-0, Ryan Morton 6-0-19-0, Kurti