Michael Thomas Memorial Cup: Clarbeston Road 1-4 Carew

Four goals in the first 30 minutes helped Carew retain the Michael Thomas Memorial Cup last night as the Rooks were too strong for hosts Clarbeston Road.

Rob Scourfield's side were 2-0 up within 10 minutes, and twice it was the head of Sam Christopher that did the damage.

He nodded in at the back post after five minutes and then after the Clarbie defence failed to clear their lines, headed in again past home keeper Lee Scott.

After 23 minutes it was 3-0 as Scott Ferney drilled in a low shot from the edge of the area, and the same player then scored the goal of the game when he skipped past two defenders before placing a low shot home.

Three minutes before half time Clarbie did pull one back though, Ben John rising highest in the six yard box to head in a Matthew Ellis free kick.

The home side continued to come back into it after the break with Carew keeper Tom Davies forced into some smart saves, but it was the Rooks who ran out comfortable winners.

After the final whistle, Clarbie Club Chairman Steve Brown spoke and thanked everyone involved, and Club President Delwyn Lewis then presented the silverware to Carew captain Iwan Izzard.

Earlier in the week the tournament, running for the 17th time, had kicked off with Clarbie beating Johnston 6-0, while Carew made the final courtesy of an 11-1 win over Camrose.

Clarbeston Road: Lee Scott, Tyler Page, Dan Rees, Matthew Griffiths, Josh Hardman, Rheinallt George, Raph Barnett, Matthew Ellis, Matthew Davies, Ben John, Aaron Ormond. Subs: Richard Bevan, Ieuan Cooke, Steffan Thomas.

Carew: Tom Davies, Adam Muskett, Sonny Phillips, Zac Rowell, Morgan Scourfield, Jack Christopher, Scott Ferney, Sam Christopher, Iwan Izzard, Joe Leahy, Fraser Finlay. Subs: James Harries, Haydn Shapcott, Jordan Richards.

Referee: Tom Bevan.

Assistants: Damian Haworth and Neil Crawshaw.