Ormond Youth Cup Final: Whitland Youth (101 for 9 & 72 for 7) lost to Carew/Saundersfoot Youth (147 for 4 & 27 for 2) by 8 wickets

The combined side from Carew and Saundersfoot were worthy winners of the 2019 Ormond Youth Cup Final as their greater experience, with a number of them already shining at senior level, paying off as they needed only 27 runs to win in their second innings after they had led by 46 runs at tea.

Such a margin was always going to be too much for Whitland to recover from and was set up by Rhys Grigg as he smote five sixes in a speedy 48 and after bowling spells of 0 for 10 and 3 for 13, as well as taking a good catch, was chosen as man of the match by Johnny Lewis (Herbrandston), who presented the trophy on behalf of sponsor Nick Evans (The Cricket Shop, Narberth).

That the game started on time was a tribute to the terrific work of the Carew ground staff after so much overnight rain that continued into the morning, and they were rewarded by one of the largest crowds seen at an Ormond Youth Final for many years.

Solid start but no late impetus against tight bowling

Put in to bat, Whitland made a solid start via skipper Gethin Scourfield (13) and Harry Jones (19) but they lost their wickets respectively to Carl Thomas and Aryan Kawale as they tried in vain to raise the tempo after only 40 runs came in 10 overs.

Jacob Owen struck two fours and a six in his 39 before he was well stumped by Morgan Grieve as part of a productive 4 for 20 spell by Carl Thomas, with Grieve also pouching two good catches. Tom Mansbridge supported with 2 for 13 and the only maiden of the innings, whilst Rhys Richards claimed 2 for 11 as well as taking two good catches.

Thomas turns the game on its head

Mansbridge and Grieve then got Carew/Saundersfoot off to a cracking start in an opening stand of 59 in the 11th over before both departed for 29 - Grieve belting three boundaries before he was caught by Harry Jones off Luc Owen, with Mansbridge departing to a return catch from Jacob Owen.

Carl Thomas reached 20 before he was run out but Grigg turned the game on its head as 50 runs came in the last five overs, smashing five sixes in the process – and establishing that huge advantage at half way.

Grigg causes early damage

After tea Whitland needed a strong start but Grigg ruined their hopes with a 3 for 13 spell that saw Scourfield (9), Harry Fuller (12) and Jamie Thomas (0) back in the shed as Kawale, Elliott Waters and Mansbridge all grabbed catches.

It was always going to be difficult for the young Whitland side as they managed only 38 runs in 10 overs and were only in front with eight overs to go with further wickets falling to Kawale and Thomas (2).

Rhys Richards bowled two maiden overs in his 1 for 4 and it was only a gritty 18 from Dafydd Jones, plus 19 extras that saw Carew/Saundersfoot having to bat again.

Early finish but Whitland battle hard

But there was a little drama still to come as Scourfield bowled Grieve for a first-ball duck and Carl Thomas (4) fell to a return catch to Jamie Thomas but at 12 for 2 - Mansbridge and Kawale saw Carew/Saundersfoot home for their second success in three straight final appearances.

They needed only 3.4 overs before Tony Scourfield presented skipper Mansbridge with the silverware after a game which was a credit to youth cricket in the county.

County club chairman Paul Webb conducted the presentations and music was provided by Richard Merriman and Richard Scriven.


First Innings:

Whitland batting:

Gethin Scourfield ct Tom Mansbridge b Carl Thomas 13

Harry Jones ct Morgan Grieve b Aryan Kawale 19

Jamie Thomas ct Carl Thomas b Rhys Richards 2

Jacob Owen st Morgan Grieve b Carl Thomas 39

Harry Fuller b Rhys Richards 9

Trystan Rees ct Rhys Richards b Tom Mansbridge 1

Dafydd Jones ct Aryan Kawale b Carl Thomas 2

Luc Owen ct Morgan Grieve b Tom Mansbridge 1

Ollie Bujega ct Rhys Richards b Carl Thomas 1

Sam Davies not out 2

Extras 12

Total (9 wickets) 101

Carew/Saundersfoot Bowling: Rhys Grigg 4-0-10-0; Rhys Canton 4-0-16-0; Aryan Kawale 3-0-24-1; Carl Thomas 4-0-20-4; Rhys Richards 2-0-11-2; Tom Mansbridge 3-1-13-2.

Carew/Saundersfoot Batting:

Tom Mansbridge ct & b Jacob Owen 29

Morgan Grieve ct Harry Jones b Luc Owen 29

Carl Thomas run out 20

Rhys Grigg st Sam Davies b Gethin Scourfield 48

Elliott Waters not out 0

Aryan Kawale not out 5

Extras 16

Total (4 wickets) 147

Whitland Bowling: Gethin Scourfield 4-0-27-1; Jamie Thomas 4-0-27-0; Luc Owen 4-0-27-1; Jacob Owen 4-0-27-1; Dafydd Jones 3-0-27-0; Harry Fuller 1-0-8-0

Second Innings:

Whitland Batting:

Gethin Scourfield ct Aryan Kawale b Rhys Grigg 9

Harry Fuller ct Elliott Waters b Rhys Grigg 12

Jamie Thomas ct Tom Mansbridge b Rhys Grigg 0

Jacob Owen lbw b Carl Thomas 7

Harry Jones ct Rhys Grigg b Aryan Kawale 2

Trystan Rees b Rhys Richards 1

Dafydd Jones lbw b Carl Thomas 18

Luc Owen not out 4

Jai Hogben not out 0

Extras 19

Total (7 wickets) 72

Carew/Saundersfoot Bowling: Rhys Grigg 4-0-13-3; Rhys Canton 4-0-14-0; Aryan Kawale 2-0-13-1; Carl Thomas 3-0-13-2; Tom Mansbridge 4-0-12-0; Rhys Richards 3-2-4-1.

Carew/Saundersfoot Batting:

Tom Mansbridge not out 13

Morgan Grieve b Gethin Scourfield 0

Carl Thomas ct & b Jamie Thomas 4

Aryan Kawale not out 4

Extras 6

Total (2 wickets) 27

Whitland Bowling: Gethin Scourfield 2-0-11-1; Jamie Thomas 1-0-7-1; Trystan Rees 0.4-0-4-0.

Umpires: Arthur Brady & Steve Blowes

Scorers: Julie Davies (Carew) & Rob Benjamin (Whitland)

Man of the Match: Rhys Grigg

Man of the Match Adjudicator: Johnny Lewis (Herbrandston)