Division 1: Pennar Robins 1-7 Monkton Swifts 

Champions Monkton Swifts were too strong for derby rivals Pennar Robins, bagging seven goals in an emphatic victory at Bush Camp, writes Gordon Thomas.

This result shows that The Swifts mean business again as they try to retain the title. Joe Lewis’ team took a while to get going, but once they got into their stride they looked impressive as Chris Lloyd’s Pennar Robins outfit struggled to contain them.

Man of the match Ben Steele looked a threat up front for the visitors, he claimed a brilliant hat-trick and was involved in keeping the Pennar defence on their toes.

Luke Phillips missed a great opportunity to give Pennar the lead, as his low shot into the side netting seemed to have Swifts’ keeper Stuart James beaten.

But The Swifts went on to dominate and 3-0 at the break, and they grabbed a further four goals in the second period as they dominated territory and possession.

The visitors opened the scoring in the 23rd minute, Dylan Davies turning in Ben Steele’s shot-cum-cross from inside the box.

Provider Steele then turned goal scorer, cleverly dinking the ball over the advancing Richard Evans. Steele added the third, with a sweetly struck half volley from a corner.

After the break Ryan Griffiths added the fourth, cutting in from the right and struck a low shot into the far corner.

Steele added a superb fifth, completing his treble, unleashing an unstoppable free kick from the edge of the 18-yard area.

Rhys Lucas pulled a consolation back for The Robins.

Swifts’ substitute Jimmy Walker was on target with goal number six, cutting from the wing and unleashing a low shot into the bottom corner.

Martyn Carroll scored from a corner for the seventh and completing the rout.

“Derby games are never a given,” said  Lewis. “We broke them down and took our chances especially in the second half.”

Pennar manager said: “No complaints beaten by a better team on the day.”

Pennar Robins: Richard Evans, Josh Clark, Ross Lascelles, Josh Dearsley, Luke Phillips, Connor Roberts, Dano Kitts, Tom Grimwood, Sam Southcott, Patrick McDonagh, Nick Willis. Subs: Rhys Lucas, Ceri Griffiths, Craig Asparassa.

Monkton Swifts: Stuart James, Ben Nicholas, Jake Seaton, Shaun Jones, Rhodri Davies, Chris Richards, Martyn Carroll, Blake James, Ryan Griffiths, Dylan Davies, Ben Steele. Subs: Jimmy Wilkes, Jimmy Walker, Adam Brown.

Referee: Craig Templeton.