Division Three West A: Haverfordwest 27-0 Laugharne

With both teams having a 100% league record something would have to give at Pembroke Road and it was Haverfordwest who were clear winners as they deservedly rattled up 27 points and prevented Laugharne from scoring a single point.

Blues’ coach Steve Barnett had been in confident mood before the game because his squad was nearly at full strength – but they were taken aback a little at the outset when they were shunted back at a couple of early scrums – but soon put that right to take control, especially at the break down where they turned over Laugharne ball regularly.

As a result home No 10 Mikey Jones landed penalties in the 6th, 12th and 17th minutes, before he was heavily involved with his midfield and then supplying the scoring pass for full back Rhys Baker to score in the left corner.

Jones then added a fourth penalty to make it 17-0 at half time, and even the most die-hard Laugharne supporters would have had to say that their normally dynamic squad wasn’t at the races.

Jones also opened the second half with a well-struck penalty and although the visitors came back a little in terms of possession it was Haverfordwest who scored their second try after sustained pressure on the Laugharne line allowed skipper Gareth Phillips to cross at the posts for Jones to convert.

Laugharne did enjoy a strong period of pressure late on but were unable to break the shackles and it was The Blues who made it three wins from as many starts, whilst sending Laugharne home pointless.

And finally, 19 year old referee Tom Carew, who is studying at Swansea University after attending Milford Haven Comprehensive, took control of his first game in this section and delivered an assured display with the whistle.

Haverfordwest: Rhys Baker, Tony Steiner, Unaia Balekinasiga, Gareth Owens, Jack Evans, Mike Jones, Elgan Roberts, Terry Lovell, Jamie Zambass, Tom Carrington, Jack Clancy, Gareth Phillips, Gareth John, Matty Phillips (capt), Jon Mason. Replacements: Craig Barnett, Ashley George, Jonathan Clout, Dane Pindair, Matthew Clayton.

Laugharne: Thomas Thomas, Antonio Setaro, Tom Jameson, Tom Davies, Will Evans, Dominic Pullen, Adam Davies, Rhys Thomas, Richard Walters, Dorian Harries, Leigh Thomas, Tomos Rees, Rhodri Rees, Mikey Williams, Carl Smith. Replacements: Tom Waters, Tomos Walters, David Thomas, Jack Flanagan, Carwyn Jones, Gavin Jones.