Division Two West: Tenby United 30-3 Loughor

Tenby coach Jonathan Evans has long been waiting for a turning point. This may have been it.

The already relegated Seasiders won on the final day in Kidwelly last season in what was ultimately a meaningless result - and have twice prevailed narrowly this season in league and cup games.

But against Loughor yesterday then delivered their most comprehensive display for considerable time, starving the visitors of possession up front before the pressure inevitably told.

Pugh puts Tenby into a first half lead:

The Seasiders actually trailed 0-3 early on but young No 10 Harry Rossiter, who gave another assured display, soon levelled things up with a penalty.

And then it was another player with real potential who then swung the first half Tenby’s way as centre Ben Pugh rounded off a miss move 30 metres out with his now trademark clinical finish.

Rossiter kicks away Loughor:

That made it 8-3 at the break but with prop Rob Luly in particular outstanding, the home pack dominated the early stages of the second period and it yielded four kickable penalties – all of which Rossiter goaled to put his side in control at 20-3.

Cooke's clinical conclusion:

The powerful running of Andrew Cooke had also been prominent, and sure enough it was the No 8 who then notched Tenby’s second try when he popped up out wide and crashed through two tackles to go over in the corner.

The home side saved their best till last though, as from a late penalty in their own 22 Rossiter tried a crossfield kick that winger Jack Gooding gathered before speeding 50 metres – and it was the durable Cooke who was again on hand to take the scoring pass and make the line.

“The boys are training well, we’ve had more than 20 boys there two nights this week, and are gaining in confidence,” said coach Evans.

“They deserve this.”

It was also meant a win for full back Lloyd Thomas in his first match as club captain,  deputising for the unavailable Luke Dedman.

Tenby United: Lloyd Thomas (capt), Jack Gooding, Ben Pugh, Adam Quill, Jack Tucker, Harry Rossiter, Matthew Morgan, Ethan Morgan, Dan Allen, Rob Luly, Huw Evans, Harry Bolton, Jack Brown, Luke Hansford, Andrew Cooke. Replacements: Rob Clarke, Jim Brace, Wyndham Williams, Jimmy Davies, Matt Davies.