Harrison-Allen Bowl Round 1: Llechryd (83-9) lost to Neyland (84-2) by 8 wickets

Openers Nick Koomen and Patrick Bellerby ensured there were no hiccups for Neyland as their stand of 65 set the visitors up for an 8 wicket win at Llechryd.

The home side finished 83-9 from their 22 overs, with opener Kevin Evans top scoring with three fours in his 23. Jonny Lewis also made a steady 15 and Thomas Davies (9), Graham Keen (8) and Andrew Davies (10) all got starts – but the hosts were never allowed to settle against a typically disciplined Neyland attack.

Spinners Andrew Miller (3-22) and Scott Jones (3-19) led the way and Brad McDermott-Jenkins (2-12), on his competitive debut for the club, also impressed.

Koomen and Bellerby then got going with frequent boundaries and the former reached 21 (three fours) before giving a return catch to Lewis (1-8), while Bellerby cracked eight fours and a six before falling in the same manner to Evans (1-28).

It was Nathan Banner (3 not out) and McDermott-Jenkins (4 not out) who then completed the formalities, as Neyland set up a home tie with Herbie in Round 2.

Umpires: Dave Brandon.

Scorers: Will Newell and John Laugharne.