Harrison-Allen Bowl semi final: St Ishmaels (54 all out) lost to Neyland (55-0) by 10 wickets

It turned out to be a one sided semi final at The Racecourse as Neyland were at their absolute best to blow away Tish.

Put into bat after the rain had cleared, Phill Cockburn’s side fell to 54 all out, and then it was Nick Koomen and Ashley Sutton who made quick work of the run chase as Sean Hannon’s side made in through to their fifth Bowl final in 10 seasons.

The choice to bowl first was an easy one for Hannon and the contest only went one way after the keeper himself stumped Peter Bradshaw early on off twin brother Patrick’s bowling.

The left armer also removed No 3 Brennan Devonald, caught by Gregg Miller, and clean bowled Cockburn – while Andrew Miller crucially trapped opener Danny Howells LBW after he’d reached 18 (two fours).

Miller also bowled Jonathan Pawlett and at 29-5, Tish were in disarray.

A delay followed as the players went off for rain and conditions were still difficult when they returned, but Jack Nicholas and Andy Pawlett briefly steadied matters with a stand of 14 before Hannon bowled the latter for 9 (one four) - sealing figures of 4-14 in the process.

Ross Hardy then entered the fray to skittle Nicholas (7) and Miller again struck, taking the stumps of Sean Williams.

He then had Harry Nicholas stumped by Hannon to again post excellent figures of 4-13 in six overs, and Hardy finished the job in the 18th over by bowling Jordan Milich to take 2-7 himself.

Koomen and Sutton then took just eight overs to seal a 10 wicket win.

Sutton cracked five fours to make 32 not out but it was Koomen who finished the job in style, hitting a four and then a six off successive Milich deliveries to finish unbeaten on 21.

It rounded off a very efficient display from the reigning Division 1 champions, on an afternoon where ground staff and umpires also deserve great credit for being positive in getting the game on after adverse morning weather.

Neyland, winners of the Bowl in 2011, 2013, 2015 and 2017, will now face Haverfordwest in what should be an enthralling final at Cresselly on Saturday, August 29th.


St Ishmaels:

Peter Bradshaw st Sean Hannon B Patrick Hannon

Danny Howells LBW Andrew Miller 18

Brennan Devonald ct Gregg Miller B Patrick Hannon 2

Phil Cockburn B Patrick Hannon 1

Jonathan Pawlett B Andrew Miller 1

Jack Nicholas B Ross Hardy 7

Andy Pawlett B Andrew Miller 9

Sean Williams B Andrew Miller 0

Harry Nicholas st Sean Hannon B Andrew Miller 1

Lewis Rhead not out 6

Jordan Milich B Andrew Miller 1

Extras: 5.

Total: 54 all out in 17.3 overs.


Nick Koomen not out 21

Ashley Sutton not out 32

Extras: 2.

Total: 55-0 in 8.0 overs.

Umpires: Richard Scriven and Dave Brandon.

Scorers: Wendy Bradshaw and John Laugharne.