Well, the rain was always going to rear its ugly head at some stage.

After a smooth start to this crash-bang month of cricket in Pembrokeshire, the weather last weekend has made for a condensed couple of days ahead.

Last Sunday both Alec Colley Cup semi finals were called off, but with conditions set to be clear tomorrow, should be completed on Saturday with the final now put back to Bank Holiday Sunday, August 30th.

Also tomorrow, there will a special occasion at Pembroke Dock. Arranged by Nick Daley, a ‘Thankyou NHS’ match will take place - with the former Dock skipper himself having put a squad together to take on a combined team from Lamphey/Stackpole/Pembroke. The game will be played over two innings of 20 over per side, with full details here.

Sunday will also see Cresselly battle Hook in the Ormond Youth Cup final at Carew, while over at Kilgetty the Pembrokeshire Ladies’ Cup final will see Cresselly in action against Burton in a repeat of the 2019 affair.

Groups A and B in the Ken Morris Memorial Cup are also set to continue over the next four days.

But before all that there is cricket tonight in the form of the Ormond Youth Plate final, with Whitland playing Llechryd at Lawrenny.

The rain should hold off, but any spinner asked to bowl into the wind this weekend, then God have mercy upon you….

All upcoming fixtures are listed below:

Friday, August 21st (tonight):

Ormond Youth Plate final (5pm at Lawrenny):

Whitland v Llechryd (5pm)

Umpires: Joseph Kiff and Glyn Cole.

Saturday, August 22nd:

Alec Colley Cup semi finals (1pm):

Llangwm v Carew (at Burton)

St Ishmaels v Haverfordwest

Thankyou NHS match (1pm at Pembroke Dock):

Nick Daley Select Squad v Lamphey/Stackpole/Pembroke

Sunday, August 23rd:

Ormond Youth Cup final (12pm at Carew):

Cresselly v Burton

Umpires: Ian Milsom and Robert Ridge.

Pembrokeshire Ladies’ Cup final (12.30pm at Kilgetty):

Hook v Cresselly

Umpires: Chris Stapleton and Steve Williams

And the Ken Morris Memorial Cup will continue with five fixtures over the next three days. The winners from each group will progress to the final at Narberth on Saturday, September 5th.

Ken Morris Memorial Cup fixtures:

Saturday, August 22nd:

Group A:

Carew 3rds v Nomads (2pm)

Neyland 3rds v Hundleton (2pm)

Group B:

Narberth v Crymych (2pm)

Monday, August 24th:

Group B:

Haverfordwest 3rds v Crymych (6pm)

Cresselly 3rds v Narberth (6pm)