Alec Colley Cup semi final: Llangwm 2nds (117-8) lost to Carew 2nds (120-2) by 8 wickets

Carew's mixture of experience and youthful talent shone through as they made it through to the Colley final by beating Llangwm at Oatfield Park.

Put in to bat first, Llangwm made an interesting start as they were awarded five runs for a no ball from a high-pitched first delivery from Simon Wood that Martin Thomas sent to the rope – but next over he was clean bowled by Tudor Hurle.

Andrew ‘Ackie’ Harries could only muster 2 before he received a snorter from Simon Wood and saw his off-bail removed – but skipper Sean Waller hit 15, including a six and a four before he was caught at gully by Nick Scourfield off Kerry Waters.

Phil Llewellyn and James Lewis advanced the score to 74 but then the former was adjudged lbw to Wood and the innings lost impetus despite 25 (two fours) from Lewis, before he lost patience and was stumped by Morgan Grieve off Rooks’ skipper Barry Evans.

Evans not only managed to slow the run rate but took figures of 4-21 including having Josh Davies superbly caught by Dai Rees, running in from the long-on boundary.

The Rooks set off in pursuit of their target via experienced players Brian Hall and Nick Scourfield, who punished anything loose and ran well together to get the scoreboard ticking.

They moved to 67-0 when in the 10th over Hall was stumped by Martin Thomas off a Toby Asson wide for 22 (one four).

Scourfield moved to 42 (one four) before he was out lbw to give Asson his second scalp but by then The Rooks’ score had advanced to 97 in the 15th over.

Ashley Smith came in and belted two fours in his 19 not out and Simon Wood finished with an undefeated 12, which included a boundary to end the game in style with four overs to spare.

It means a final between Carew and St Ishmaels on Bank Holiday Sunday, August 30th, with a 12pm start at Treleet, Carew.



Martin Thomas b Tudor Hurle 5

Phil Llewellyn lbw b Kerry Waters 28

Andrew Harries b Simon Wood 2

Sean Waller ct Nick Scourfield b Barry Evans 15

James Lewis st Morgan Grieve b Kerry Waters 25

Toby Asson b Barry Evans 10

Mike Williams b Barry Evans 1

Josh Davies ct Dai Rees b Barry Evans 9

Callum Jenkins not out 8

Dan Morgan not out 0

Extras 14

Total (for 8 wickets) 117 in 20 in 18 overs

Bowling: Simon Wood 5-0-39-1; Tudor Hurle 5-0-23-1; Kerry Waters 5-0-31-0; Barry Evans 5-0-21-4


Brian Hall st Martin Thomas b Toby Asson 22

Nick Scourfield lbw b Toby Asson 42

Ashley Smith not out 19

Simon Wood not out 12

Extras 25

Total for (2 wickets) 120

Bowling: Mike Williams 4-0-25-0; Daniel Hughes 1-0-15-0; Andrew Harries 5-0-27-0; Toby Asson 4-0-25-2; Phil Llewellyn 1-0-8-0; Callum Jenkins 1-0-16-0

Umpires: Robert Ridge and Glyn Cole

Scorers: George/Jonathan Twigg (Llangwm) and Julie Davies (Carew)