A brilliant season for the Narberth RFC Youth team was curtailed by the coronavirus pandemic - but they have still been able to celebrate it.

Undefeated in the Pembrokeshire League, the youngsters won the Scarlets’ Regional Championship and were pipped in the quarter-final of the Welsh Youth Cup.

Two early season friendlies set the scene for an outstanding league campaign with wins against Aberystwyth (42-0), Pembroke Dock Quins (54-0), Fishguard (56-13), Pembroke (24-3), Tenby (12-7), Aberaeron (57-12), Crymych (19-13), Milford (54-0), Whitland (26-3), and Haverfordwest (50-0).

This secured Narberth the Pembrokeshire title for the very first time and meant the squad qualified for the regional champions finals - where the Scarlets' Championship was secured with a hard fought 9–7 win against Llandeilo at Carmarthen Park.

The squad started successful campaigns in the two cup competitions, making it to the semi final of the Pembrokeshire Cup with a 61-7 win over Milford (the competition was not completed due to Covid-19) before embarking on a Welsh Youth Cup run.

With a walkover over Burry Port, Narberth reached the quarter finals with a fine 9-0 win over Cardiff side St Peters but then lost out to Cardiff Met 20-17 in dreadful weather on an artificial pitch, despite playing most of the game with 14 men.

At the presentation evening, Kenny Davies, representing Area H, presented youth captain Jordan James with the Pembrokeshire League trophy.

Coaches Randal Evans and Shane Higgon presented the following awards:

Top try scorers: Harvey Jones and Leon Whalley (jointly with 11 tries each).

Clubman of the year: Harri Harries (outside half).

Most improved player of the year: Kaleb Higgon (tight head prop).

Player of the year: Daf Gibby (back row).

Player's player of the year: Tom Clarke (hooker).

Squad: Harvey Jones, Leon Whalley, Ryan Scourfield, Ioan Evans, Joshh Hamer, Ieuan Badham, Sam Davies, Aled Davies, Harri Harries, Jac Norcross, Jordan James, Stephen Pilot, Tom Clarke, Daf Gibby, Dylan Walsh, Griff Evans, Morgan Chell, Nathan Foster, Ifan Rees, Lewis Hough, Owain Hughes, Harri Rees, Ieuan Barnes, Jay Williams, Kaleb Higgon, Meru Hughes, Osian Phillips, Rhys Kemble, Rhodri Gerrard, Owen Llewellyn, Ioan Phillips, Ethan Bateman, Rhys Davies, Owyn Griffiths.