Tenby and Narberth claim wins in tense race for title

2:01pm Wednesday 26th March 2014

Tenby 2

Goodwick United 3

TWO stunning curling free-kicks by James Evans secured an excellent victory for Goowick United at Tenby and kept them in the hunt for the title.

This win sees Goodwick United stay joint top with leaders Hakin United with the same points, but the Vikings have better goal-difference and also have three games in hand.

Stephen Evans gave the visitors the lead in the 25th minute. Sam Christopher met Sonny Phillips’ cross with a textbook header to level matters at half time.

A delightful Evans curling free-kick gave the visitors the lead in the 70th minute. A push in the box by Nigel Delaney saw Jordan Richards equalise with a penalty.

But match hero Evans secured the points with his second stunning free-kick to secure an important win for Steve Blackford’s troops.

Tenby: Dafydd Jones, Ashley Andrews, Sonny Phillips, Alex Harley, Phil Catlin, Curtis Hurlow, Jerome Mansbridge, Richard Perry, Billy Vaughan, Daryl Mansbridge, Jack Christopher. Subs: Sam Christopher, Jordan Richards, Toby Rossiter.

Goodwick United: James Gwilt, Darren Devonald, Steve Blackford, Jac Pepper, Lewis Banks, Rhys Dalling, Steffan Hayes, Stephen Evans, Nigel Delaney, James Evans, James Bottomley. Subs: James Dean, Alan Davies, Tom Jones.

Referee: Matthew Mercer.

Johnston 1

Narberth 3

THREE unanswered second half goals earned Narberth a crucial victory at Johnston.

Luke Hayward drilled home from the edge of the box that gave the Tigers a 16th minute lead. The same player missed a sitter shortly after the interval. Tigers’ defender Andrew John failed to clear as the ball came off him and directed into his own net to level matters.

Jordan Williams fired in his side’s second as Johnston’s teenager Lewis Boswell turned his ankle.

And Tony Evans made no mistake from the spot for his sides third after player boss Matthew Price was brought down in the box.

This result also kept Narberth in the hunt for the title alongside Goodwick United and last season’s champions Hakin United.

Johnston: Martin Langdon, Andrew John, Ben Phillips, Lewis Boswell, Steve Mills, Ben Skudder, Luke Hayward, James Skudder, Steven Dockerty, Adam Hawkins, Nicky Woodrow. Sub: Sion Price.

Narberth: John Durbridge: Dorian Davies, Jamie Fleig, Kyle Quartermaine, Justin Blewitt, Jordan Williams, Ashley Williams, Adi Jones, Tony Evans, Morgan Preece, Matthew Price. Subs: Marc Hughes, Iestyn Scourfield.

Referee: Jonathan Twigg.


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

Milford Mercury: site_logo http://www.milfordmercury.co.uk

Click 2 Find Business Directory http://www.milfordmercury.co.uk/trade_directory/